Featured Stories

Petro-Can Leadership Awards – 3 Cycling Coaches Honoured

release by Coaching Association of Canada

November 17, 2011 (Toronto, ON) – Canada’s top coaches and sport administrators were honoured at the Petro-Canada Sport Leadership Awards Gala, hosted by the Coaching Association of Canada (CAC), on Friday night at The Fairmont Royal York hotel in downtown Toronto. Three cycling coaches received Petro-Canada Coaching Excellence Awards: Dan Proulx, Richard Wooles, and Peter Lawless.

“The Government of Canada is pleased to support the Coaching Association of Canada and the 2011 Petro-Canada Sport Leadership sportif Conference as we recognize the critical role that sport leaders and coaches play in the development of athletes and sport in Canada,” said the Honourable Bal Gosal, Minister of State (Sport). “I commend their commitment to Canadian amateur sport and to achieving sport excellence.”

“Each one of these coaches exemplifies what the Coaching Association of Canada stands for,” stated John Bales, Chief Executive Officer for the CAC. “They are dedicated individuals that push themselves harder and harder each day by planning, researching, and actively listening so that they can be better for their athletes. We are truly proud of these award winners.”


Geoff Gowan Award:
– Allison McNeill (Surrey, BC)
– Eric Broom (Vancouver, BC)

The Geoff Gowan Award was created by the Coaching Association of Canada in 1996 and recognizes lifetime contribution to coaching development. It is awarded to a coach who has presented a positive public image of coaching and enhanced the role of the coach with the Canadian public.

Coaches of Canada are a partner organization of the CAC that focuses on the profession of coaching. They present the following two important awards: Jack Donohue “Coach of the Year” Award and the Sheila Robertson Award.

Jack Donohue “Coach of the Year” Award:
– Marcel Lacroix (Calgary, AB)

This award recognizes a coach who exemplifies the great qualities that made Jack Donohue the legendary coach he was. These qualities include honesty, integrity, a positive attitude, competitiveness, a love of the sport, and that sport is about more than just wins and losses.

“The passion and warmth that Marcel exhibits are two of the reasons why he is perfect for this award,” said Wayne Parro, Executive Director of Coaches of Canada. “He has had tremendous success as a coach, but he also influenced many people within and outside of his sport with his inclusiveness and incredibly positive energy. Marcel stands for everything that Jack Donohue was about. We proudly recognize our Coach of the Year Marcel Lacroix.”

Sheila Robertson Award:
– Taekwondo Canada

The Sheila Robertson Award recognizes a deserving National Sport Organization or Multi-Sport Service Organization that demonstrates a consistent approach in valuing and recognizing the role of the coach within the organization, the media and the public.

“The approach that Taekwondo took this year was fantastic. They successfully met or exceeded the criteria for this prestigious award. As well, they increased their reach through the effective use of social media,” said Wayne Parro. “The stories that they brought to life through these channels largely focused on the role and importance of the coach. They were able to cut through the clutter with stories of coaches that resonated with many outside their sport.”

Investors Group National Volunteer Sport Administrator Award:
– Kirsten Brough (Regina, SK)

This award recognizes the contribution to community sport programs made by a dedicated volunteer who has given countless hours of time so that coaches and athletes can enjoy the benefits of well-organized sport.

“Investors Group is active in Canadian communities and celebrates the people who dedicate hours just to make a difference in those communities,” stated Richard Irish, Vice-President, Community Affairs and Area Marketing at Investors Group. “Kirsten has spent hours of her personal time largely behind the scenes, away from the limelight just to help others in sport and she is very deserving of this recognition.”

Petro-Canada Coaching Excellence Awards:
These prestigious awards recognize coaches whose athletes have excelled at World Championships, Olympic and Paralympic Games and the Special Olympics World Games.

“Petro-Canada has supported the recognition of Canada’s coaches for 11 years and has recognized over 200 of Canada’s best. This year, as in years past, there is an incredible list of talented coaches that we are very proud to celebrate,” said Steven Keith, Director, Loyalty and Marketing Partnerships, Petro-Canada, a Suncor Energy business.

Photos from the event can be viewed HERE.

– Peter Lawless, Victoria: Para-Cycling
Athlete: Mark Ledo

– Dan Proulx, Victoria: Cycling
Athlete: Catherine Pendrel

– Richard Wooles, Vancouver: Cycling
Athlete: Tara Whitten

Please click HERE to see the 44 winners of this award for 2011.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.