Featured Stories

PanAmerican Track Championships Day 3 Report, Results – Smith Wins Silver

report by the CCA

May 13, 2010 (Aguascalientes, Mexico) – Daniele Defranceschi, Mark MacDonald, Jean-Michel Lachance, and Remi Pelltier-Roy took almost a second off the Canadian Record in the Men’s Team Pursuit at the Pan American Championships in Aguascalientes, Mexico. The team was looking to make it in to the final but had to settle for 5th and the knowledge that they gained time on all their competitors from last year.

Personal bests were the theme of the day for the Canadian Team and Monique Sullivan set another one in the 200 meter sprint qualifier. Her previous personal best was set at Junior Worlds in Aguascalientes in 2007 and today’s 4th fastest time of 11.307 gave her confidence heading in to the sprint rounds.  She easily dispatched her Mexican pairing in the 1/8 round and won the first two races in the quarter finals moving on to the semi-final round tomorrow.

Steph Roorda and Laura Brown raced in the Scratch Race and were outnumbered by the South Americans finishing in 9th and 10th place respectively. “My goal for the scratch race was to race hard, but smart. I was aggressive in the race, I spent 10 laps or so off the front. I was caught inside half distance to go, and then set myself up for the finish. I made a move with a few laps to go, but it didn’t go as I hoped. I was wanting a better result from this race, but feel I had a solid ride,” commented Steph Roorda.

Travis Smith and Stephane Cossette rode in the kilo final and both raced to personal bests and moved up one spot from last year.  Stephane finished in 6th place and 1.18 seconds faster than last year in a time of 1:02.671 and Travis bested his Canadian record to win silver in a time of 1:01.429. Travis and Stephane will race again tomorrow in the Sprints and are feeling confident heading in to the race.

Canadian’s racing on May 14th are:
– Women’s Omnium: Steph Roorda
– Men’s Omnium: Remi Pelletier-Roy
– Men’s Sprint: Travis Smith, Stephane Cossette, Joseph Veloce
– Women’s Sprint Finals: Monique Sullivan
– Madison: Mark MacDonald and Daniele Defranceschi



Kilometre Time Trial

1. Cristopher Sellier (Trinidad and Tobago) 1:01.0
2. Travis Smith (Canada) 1:01.4
3. Angel Pulgar (Venezuela) 1:01.8
4. Jonathan Marin (Colombia) 1:02.0
5. Fabian Puerta (Colombia) 1:02.4
6. Stephane Cosette (Canada) 1:02.7
7. Roberto Serrano (Mexico) 1:03.1
8. Emilioano Fernandez (Argentina) 1:03.1
9. Christopher Mansilla (Chile) 1:03.3
10. Tj Mathieson (United States Of America) 1:03.7
11. Daniel Walker (United States Of America) 1:03.8
12. Dario Alvarez (Argentina) 1:04.2
13. Jhonny Araujo (Venezuela) 1:04.3
14. Azikiwe Kellar (Trinidad and Tobago) 1:04.9
15. Miguel Larrañaga (Mexico) 1:05.0
16. Jonathan Macz (Guatemala) 1:05.1
17. Deivi Capellan (Dominican Republic) 1:05.3
18. Edison Bravo (Chile) 1:05.5
19. Shane Whekers (Barbados) 1:05.6
20. Marco Gullen (Costa Rica) 1:07.8
21. Julio Padilla (Guatemala) 1:09.6
DNS Euris Vidal (Dominican Republic)

Team Pursuit

1. Colombia 3:59.4
Juan Pablo Suarez
Arles Castro
Weimar Roldan
Edwin Avila)

2. Chile 4:06.4
Enzo Cesario
Pablo Seisdedos
Antonio Cabrera
Luis Mansilla

3. Cuba 4:11.0
Pedro Sibila
Reldys Perez
Yans Carlos
Ruben Campanioni

4. Argentina 4:15.7
Eduardo Sepulveda
Marcos Crespo
Walter Trillini
Maximiliano Almada

5. Canada
Daniele Defranceschi
Mark MacDonald
Jean-Michel Lachance
Remi Pelltier-Roy


10km Scratch Race

1. Yumari Gonzalez (Cuba)
2. Sofia Arreola (Mexico)
3. Paola Muñoz (Chile)
4. Theresa Cliff-Ryan (United States Of America)
5. Talia Aguirre (Argentina)
6. Yudelmis Dominguez (Cuba)
7. Lorena Vargas (Colombia)
8. Angie Gonzalez (Venezuela)
9. Steph Roorda (Canada)
10. Laura Brown (Canada)

11. Leidy Muñoz (Colombia)
12. Luz Gonzalez (Ecuador)
13. Shelley Evans (United States Of America)
DNF Cassandra Rodriguez (Costa Rica)
DNF Melissa Loria (Costa Rica)
DNF Olga Cisterna (Chile)
DNF Paola Salazar (Guatemala)
DNF Maria Briceño (Venezuela)
DNF Daiana Almada (Argentina)
DNF Nancy Arreola (Mexico)
DNF Luz Rodriguez (Puerto Rico)
DNF Maria Rivera (Puerto Rico)
DNF Elaine Dominguez (Dominican Republic)
DNF Yaina Beras (Dominican Republic)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.