Featured Stories

Ontario Provincial Cyclocross Championships 2009 Report, Full Results, Standings

by pedalmag.com

November 17, 2009 (Ottawa, ON) – The 2009 Ontario Cyclocross Championships took place on Sunday in Ottawa at the Terry Fox Athletic Park. Over 200 racers contested the event on a 3.5km course featuring many open straights, climbing, and a tricky sand pit.

Osmond Bakker (EMD Serono-Specialized) took home the Senior men’s title, with Melissa Bunn (The Hub Race Team) clinching the Senior women’s win in the five-lap race. Kevin Massicotte (Independent) rose to the occasion and secured victory in the seven-lap U23 men’s event, while up-and-comer Evan McNeely (EMD Serono-Specialized) won the Junior men’s provincial title.

The Senior men’s event came down to a nail-biting finish, with Erik Box (Garneau-Club Chaussures) finishing second to Bakker in a sprint. Sylvain Jean (KONA/Bio-Max) took the bronze medal.

The same story played out in the Senior women’s race, with Bunn just edging out second place, Jennifer Stephenson (Ultralink), by one second at the line, while third place, Sophie Matte (Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery) trailed the leaders by over a minute.

Massicotte was untouchable in the small U23 men’s field. Michael Miller (Ride With Rendall) took second spot, over five minutes back from the leader. Patrick Twomey (Quadcycles) rolled into third, trailing by one lap.

It wasn’t close either in the Junior men’s race. McNeely dominated, hitting the finish with nearly two minutes to spare over his closest rival, Sam Rykhoff (BikeSports Racing Team), while Karl Hoppner (EMD Serono Specialized) rode in for third.

Full results here.
2009 Southern Ontario Cyclo-Cross Standings as of Nov. 16 here.

Results (brief)

Senior Men
1. Osmond Bakker (EMD Serono-Specialized) 1:05:08
2. Erik Box (Garneau-Club Chaussures) 1:05:09
3. Sylvain Jean (KONA/Bio-Max) 1:05:47

Senior Women
1. Melissa Bunn (The Hub Race Team) 52:15
2. Jennifer Stephenson (Ultralink) 52:16
3. Sophie Matte (Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery) 53:35

U23 Men
1. Kevin Massicotte (Independent) 1:11:48
2. Michael Miller (Ride With Rendall) 1:17:03
3. Patrick Twomey (Quadcycles) -1 lap

Junior Men
1. Evan Mcneely (EMD Serono / Specialized) 52:43
2. Sam Rykhoff (BikeSports Racing Team) 54:49
3. Karl Hoppner (EMD Serono Specialized) 55:20

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.