Featured Stories

NORBA #7 — Cross Country Finals Report

August 13, 2006 (Snowmass, CO) — Some of North America’s top riders ripped up the Colorado singletrack at the NORBA Finals in Snowmass on Saturday. Geoff Kabush (CAN, Maxxis) and Catharine Pendrel (CAN, Norco) threw down the best Canadian results in the Elite Men’s and Women’s races respectively, with Kabush powering into third place and Pendrel taking ninth.

The men raced around two laps of the challenging 19-kilometre loop, which included 700 metres of vertical gain and lots of stream crossings. It was American powerhouse Jeremiah Bishop (USA, Trek-VW) who won the race in a time of 1:54:58. Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (USA, Subaru-Gary Fisher) took second spot, finishing 42 behind Bishop. Kabush was 2:44 back. Other Canadian participants included Ricky Federau (CAN, Team R.A.C.E.), who finished lucky 13th, Mathieu Toulouse (CAN, Maxxis) who crossed the finish in 20th, Kris Sneddon (CAN, Kona-Les Gets) who rode into 23rd position and Matt Hadley (CAN, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects), who cruised into 28th spot.

Jimena Florit (ARG, Luna Women’s Team) was the fastest Elite Woman, hammering through a lap and a half of the course to finish first in the 30-kilometre race. Heather Irmiger (USA, Subaru-Gary Fisher) rode into second place, 52 seconds back and Katerina Nash (CZE, Luna Women’s Team) finished third. Pendrel was content with her ninth-place finish. She used the race as part of her preparation for the World Championships, which take place in New Zealand on August 27.

Kobelski and Shonny Vanlandingham (USA, Luna Women’s Team) won the overall titles in the Elite Men’s and Women’s NORBA Series. Kabush was second overall, taking the top Canadian men’s result, while Alison Sydor (CAN, Rocky Mountain-Business Objects) was top Canadian women in 19th overall.


1 Jeremiah Bishop (USA) Trek/VW 1:54:58
2 Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher at 0:42
3 Geoff Kabush (Can) Team Maxxis 2:44
4 Todd Wells (USA) GT Bikes 3:16
5 Adam Craig (USA) Giant 5:11
6 Ross Schnell (USA) Trek/VW 6:15
7 Sam Jurekovic (USA) U23 National Team 7:40
8 Kashi Leuchs (NZl) Cannondale/Vredestein 7:54
9 Eric Jones (USA) Raleigh Factory 8:03
10 Jay Henry (USA) 3D/Hillenbrand Racing 8:28

13 Ricky Federau (Can) Teamrace.Com 9:55
20 Mathieu Toulouse (Can) Team Maxxis 13:43
23 Kris Sneddon (Can) Kona/Les Gets 15:27
28 Matthew Hadley (Can) Rocky Mountain/Business Objects 17:48


1 Jimena Florit (Arg) Luna Women’s MTB Team 1:51:14
2 Heather Irmiger (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher at 0:52
3 Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Women’s MTB Team 1:22
4 Dara Marks-Marino (USA) Titus/Kenda 1:41
5 Shonny Vanlandingham (USA) Luna Women’s MTB Team 2:07
6 Georgia Gould (USA) Luna Women’s MTB Team 3:43
7 Susan Haywood (USA) Trek/VW 4:34
8 Gretchen Reeves (USA) Trek/VW 5:36
9 Catherine Pendrel (Can) Norco 7:58
10 Willow Koerber (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher 8:46

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.