Featured Stories

NORBA #6 – Brian Head, Utah – Short Track

August 7, 2006 — Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Boulder, Colo. / Subaru-Gary Fisher) picked up his second win of the weekend when he claimed the short track cross country title in the fifth installment of the 2006 National Mountain Bike Series in Brian Head, Utah.

Horgan-Kobelski, who won Saturday’s cross country event, won the 20-minute timed event Sunday over Canadian Geoff Kabush. Todd Wells (Durango, Colo. / GT Bikes) finished third. USA Cycling Under-23 National Team alum Alan Obye (Colorado Springs, Colo. / SRAM) finished tenth. Current U-23 team members Sam Schultz (Missoula, Mont.) and Sam Jurekovic (Colorado Springs, Colo.) placed 11th and 42nd respectively in the field of 49 riders.

Kabush holds on to the overall series lead ahead of Horgan-Kobelski entering the National Mountain Bike Series finals Aug. 11-13 in Snowmass Village, Co

On the women’s side, national champion Sue Haywood (Harrisonburg, Va. / Trek-Volkswagen) picked up her second win of the weekend when she claimed the pro women’s short track cross country title ahead of 43 riders. Haywood, who won Friday’s Super D title, finished ahead of Saturday’s cross country champion Heather Irmiger (Boulder, Colo. / Subaru-Gary Fisher) and series leader Katerina Nash (CZE).

In the downhill competition, Melissa Buhl (Chandler, Ariz. / KHS Bicycles) also picked up her second win of the weekend when she won the pro women’s downhill competition in 4 minutes and 2.2 seconds. France’s Sabrina Jonnier finished second and series leader Tracey Hannah (AUS) finished third among 16 riders.

Australian Sam Hill held on to his series lead after five events with his win in the downhill event in 3 minutes and 26.94 seconds. South African Greg Minnaar finished in second place — just 1.86 seconds back. Matti Lehikoinen of Finland finished third.

Early Sunday morning, Jeremiah Bishop (Harrisonburg, Va. / Trek-Volkswagen) won the marathon title in 3 hours, 13 minutes and 8.10 seconds. Travis Brown (Durango, Colo. / Trek/FRSN) finished second and Jay Henry (Avon, Colo. / 3DHillenB) finished third in the field of 21 riders. Evan Plews (Dallas, Ore. / Santiam) stands in first in the series standings.

Gretchen Reeves (Boulder, Colo. / Trek-Volkswagen) won the open women’s marathon category in 3:59:57.43. Series leader Kate Aardel (CAN) finished second and Angela Sucich (Seattle, Wash. / Voodoo Cycles) finished third among six riders.

Though not contested in Brian Head, Australian Jared Rando leads the pro men’s mountain cross standings entering next weekend’s finals. Joanna Petterson of South Africa leads the women’s series standings.


1 Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher 0.25.12
2 Geoff Kabush (Can) Team Maxxis 0.10
3 Todd Wells (USA) Gt Bikes 0.13
4 Carl Decker (USA) Giant 0.20
5 Adam Craig (USA) Giant 0.30
6 Brent Miller (Aus) Santa Cruz/Fox Shox 0.41
7 Ross Schnell (USA) Trek/VW 0.45
8 Barry Wicks (USA) Kona/Les Gets 1.01
9 Cody Peterson (USA) 3D Racing/Sram/Lfp&Co 1.01
10 Alan Obye (USA) Sram 1.01


1 Susan Haywood (USA) Trek/VW 0.27.14
2 Heather Irmiger (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher 0.01
3 Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Womens Mtb Team 0.03
4 Dara Marks-Marino (USA) Titus/Kenda 0.11
5 Georgia Gould (USA) Luna Womens Mtb 0.19
6 Shonny Vanlandingham (USA) Luna Womens Mtb Team 0.23
7 Jimena Florit (Arg) Luna Womens Mtb 0.55
8 Catherine Pendrel (Can) Norco 1.09
9 Kathy Sherwin (USA) Ford Cycling 1.28
10 Nina Baum (USA) Bear Naked/Cannondale 1.32

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.