Featured Stories

Ruby West 3rd, McConnell 6th @ NBX Gran Prix of ‘Cross Warwick Day 1 – Report, Results, Photos

release by Vittoria NECXS

December 04, 2016 (Warwick, R.I.) – In round seven of the Vittoria Northeast Cyclocross Series presented by Cycle-Smart, Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com picked up double wins on Day 1 of Category 2 (C2) racing at NBX Gran Prix of ‘Cross with Emma and Curtis White.

Ruby West  ©  Chris McIntosh
In the Women’s Elite race,  Emma White would go on the hunt for the win early at Goddard Memorial State Park in Warwick, R.I., known for classic New England terrain with its technical turns, rooty descents, and legendary beach sections. White would take the hole shot and never look back.

Early on lap one, she began to pull away from the field riding in a league of her own. Only Melinda McCutcheon (DNA-Cotton Sox) would come close to White. She finished only four seconds down in second place after a huge effort in the final lap in an attempt to catch the leader. The battle for third continued throughout the race between Ruby West (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com), Arley Kemmerer (Fearless Femme Racing), and Julie Wright (Team Averica). After several bobbles split the group of three, West would come in for third place seven seconds ahead of Kemmerer, who would take fourth.

Women's podium  ©  Chris McIntosh
“Last lap I was playing it safe a little bit” said White, who sits in second place in the USA Cycling Professional Cyclo-cross national standings coming into the weekend.. “I knew I had a pretty strong lead. With all these roots I kind of played it safe there. She (McCutcheon) was strong until the end. I wasn’t going slow by any means but would rather have won by less of a gap than flattened and lost it.”

With today’s win, White is one step closer to clinching the overall Vittoria Series title as she cuts into Maghalie Rochette’s (Clif Pro Team) overall lead. Rochette is not in attendance this weekend at NBX.

West was thrilled with her podium performance. “It’s my first one ever so I am really, really happy.” She secured third place on the final lap. “On the last lap going up the stairs Arley missed her pedal getting back in so I just kinda clipped in quickly and went around her and tried to hold the gap.”

McConnell was 6th  ©  Pasquale Stalteri
Peter Goguen (Race CF) would lead the charge to open the Elite Men’s race, driving the pace for a group of six that included Curtis White, Jack Kisseberth (JAM/NCC), Jeremy Durrin (Neon Velo Cycling Team), Dylan McNicholas (Polartec), and Justin Lindine (Apex/NBX/Trek). With four laps to go, White would make his move and was quickly on his own for the remainder of the day, flying around the technical track. White would take the win with 24 seconds over second-place Durrin. Durrin would just edge out Kisseberth in a sprint to the line.

Men's podium  ©  Chris McIntosh
Curtis White came into today focused and on a mission. “I came into this weekend, I had a plan. I knew I wanted to go with four to go. It was a ways out but I felt like I had a solid week of training. I took last weekend of from racing so I was able to get the training in I wanted to. I came in well rested and that was what I set out to do. Right with four to go I got the front and hit it up a couple of the hills and the gap just started to slowly open and just kept opening after that.”

Lindine would finish fourth and Goguen, who led the race early, would finish up in fifth. “I think I burned one too many matches in the beginning when I was on the front. I wanted to just get a feel of the course, get the feel of my pace and kind of hold at that. I wasn’t trying to push it hard, just go my own pace.”



1. Emma White (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.) 47:40
2. Marcly Mccutcheon (DNA-Cotton Sox) 47:44
3. Ruby West (Cannondale Cyclocrossworld.com) 48:07
4. Arley Kemmerer (Fearless Femme Racing) 48:14
5. Julie Wright (Team Averica) 48:41
6. Laura Van gilder (Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers p/) 48:59
7. Cassandra Maximenko (Van Dessel/Atom Composites/ISM) 49:11
8. Kate Northcott (West Hill Shop) 49:20
9. Kathleen Lysakowski (Joe’s Garage CX / BikeReg) 49:23
10. Kathryn Cumming (Jalapeno Cycling) 49:42
11. Rachel Rubino (Fearless Femme Racing) 49:46
12. Stacey Barbossa (MidAtlantic Colavita Women’s Te) 49:49
13. Regina Legge (GREEN LINE VELO driven by Zipca) 50:35
14. Brittlee Bowman (HOUSE IND/WITHINGS/SIMPLEHUMAN) 51:05
15. Clio Dinan (K?D? Collective CX) 51:22
16. Roni Vetter (State 9 Racing p/b Vittoria) 51:25
17. Julie Van der hoop (MIT Cycling Team p/b Thoughtfor) 51:32
18. Erin Faccone (Team Averica) 51:42
19. Turner Ramsay (KMS Cycling – Killington Mounta) 51:48
20. Rebecca Lewandowski (Rare Disease Cycling / Keswick) 52:06
21. Elizabeth White (HOUSE IND/WITHINGS/SIMPLEHUMAN) 52:21
22. Caitlin Szymkowicz (Barks X Wreck Adventure Club) 52:24
23. Jenny Wojewoda (HUP United) 52:26
24. Rhys May (JAM / NCC) 52:36
25. Bryna Blanchard (NAV) 52:40
26. Leslie Lupien (Dartmouth College) 52:56
27. Sophie Russenberger (Bard College) 53:22
28. Emily Molden (Nantucket Velo) 53:26
29. Paige Williams (ladies first racing) 53:41
30. Alix Norris (Cowbell Racing p/b World Bicycl) 53:44
31. Kathleen Wanat (Bikes+Life) 53:55
32. Taryn Mudge (Fearless Femme Racing) 53:58
33. Joanne Grogan (NEXT-BMB) 54:04
34. Natalie Tapias (JAM / NCC) 55:05
35. Lydia Hausle (Team Averica) 55:36
36. Sara Melikian (pedalpowertraining.com) 57:49
DNF Frances Morrison (BikeReg)
DNF Taylor Kuyk-white (Laser Cats Feline All Stars)


1. Curtis White (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.) 56:32
2. Jeremy Durrin (Neon Velo Cycling Team) 56:56
3. Jack Kisseberth (JAM / NCC) 56:57
4. Justin Lindine (Apex / NBX / Trek) 57:19
5. Peter Goguen (RACE CF) 57:24
6. Mark McConnell (Hot Sauce Cycling x Garneau) 58:26
7. Robert Marion (American Classic Pro CX Team) 58:32
8. Dylan Mcnicholas (POLARTEC) 59:23
9. Adam Myerson (Cycle-Smart) 1 :12
10. Andy Scott (Riverside Racing) 1 :13
11. Alec Donahue (JAM / NCC) 1 :13
12. Michael Mihalik (Jmac Cycling/Novacare) 1 :15
13. Trent Blackburn (NCC / JAM Fund) 1 :34
14. Jordan Snyder (C3-Twenty20 Cycling) 1 :41
15. Evan Murphy (Hudson/Ludwig & Larsen Racing) 1 :45
16. Patrick Collins (Minuteman Road Club) 1 :47
17. Nick Lando (UVM Cycling) 1 :51
18. Michael Owens (Hands-On Cycling p/b Giant) 1 :52
19. Michael Landry (Voler/Clif/HRS/Rock Lobster) 1 :54
20. Zachary Curtis (Bridgewater State University) 1 :55
21. Tim Willis (KING KOG) 1 :58
22. Andrew Borden (Squadra Flying Tigers) 1 :59
24. Gerald Adasavage (Hudson/Ludwig & Larsen Racing) 1:01:48
25. Case Butler (NCC/JAM) 1:01:56
26. Fred Prescott (Dr. Naylor-Treadwelltraining Ra) 1:02
27. Matthew Tyler (K?D? Collective CX) 1:02:02
28. Matthew Sousa (B2C2/Boloco) 1:02:12
29. Cameron Scott (Barks + Wreck) 1:02:14
30. Kale Wenczel (Joe’s Garage) 1:02:25
31. Scott Fitzgerald (Mariposa Bicycles) 1:02:42
32. Adam St. germain (Apex / NBX / Trek Pro Cycling) 1:02:50
33. Colin Reuter (crossresults.com) 1:02:50
34. Ted Willard   1:02:55
35. Evan Huff (BikeReg) 1:02:56
36. Matthew Mollo (ECV | Essex County Velo) 1:02:59
37. Kevin Bouchard-hall   1:03:01
38. Tristan Manderfeld (Army West Point Cycling Team) 1:03:08
39. Kyle Murphy (Hudson/Ludwig & Larsen Racing) 1:04:05
40. Aaron Oakes (Wenzel Coaching) 1:04:14
41. Sam Dries (No. 22 CX TEAM) @2Lap
42. Spencer Perry (RIT Cycling) @2Lap
43. Abe Goorskey (American Classic Pro CX Team) @2Lap
44. Daniel Fitzgibbons (GREEN LINE VELO driven by Zipca) @3Lap
45. Anson Ross (Southbridge bikes/cannondale) @3Lap
DNF Brendan McCormack (CCB Racing)
DNF Jules Goguely (Apex / NBX / Trek)
DNF Preston Buehrer (B2C2 p/b Boloco)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.