Featured Stories

MIVA Tuesday Criterium – Boxwood Circuit Aug. 9 Report, Results

release by the Mid Island Velo Association

August 10, 2011 – (Vancouver, BC) –  A good race to watch this evening. Immediately after the second neutral lap, Warren Muir and Rob Russell snuck off the front of the pack and steadily gained twelve seconds per lap while the pack watched them pull away. By lap twelve, the duo had a lead of forty seconds and worked steadily to increase this to over a minute by lap twenty-eight.

In the bunch, Mike Sevcov was trying to organise a chase but those who wanted to work were interspersed with others who were just along for the ride and the gap to the break continued to increase. By lap thirty, Muir and Russell had the pack in their sights and after a further three laps overtook the flagging group. At this point, Otto Kamstra, visiting from the mainland, managed to gap the  rest of the bunch and was able to stay away for a further three laps.

As the bell rang for the final sprint to the line, Kamstra was still about a hundred metres off the front but during the final lap, Muir towed the pack up to the Whistler rider and overtook him just before the line. However, Kamstra jumped again and just edged Warren to take the chequered flag and third place overall. Muir and Russell being a lap up on the rest of the group, took first and second.


Men 40 Laps

1. Warren Muir Oak Bay Bikes

1h 09′ 28″


2. Rob Russell MIVA



3. Otto Kamstra Team Whistler

At 1 lap


4. Aaron Amar Trail Bikes/Eatmore


5. Shepherd Stewart MIVA


6. Iain Hay MIVA


7. Mike Sevcov Everti


8. Ray Wagner CVCC/MIVA


9. Kyle Waring MIVA


9. Kirby Villeneuve NMB


9. Mark Wieler Arrowsmith/MIVA


9. Rob Bau MIVA


9. Bill McMillan NMB


14. Phillip Birrer MIVA


15. Mike Tolhurst VI Vets.



Steve Crowley Team Me




1-bunch Kyle Waring MIVA
2-break Warren Muir OBB
3-bunch Ray Wagner CVCC
4-break Warren Muir OBB
5-all Warren Muir OBB

Primes: Warren Muir (2), Rob Russell, Mike Sevcov

Women 36 laps

1. Glenda Harling Everti 1h 12′ 25″ 12
2. Charlene Stewart MIVA lapped 10

Criterium Series Points Standings to date
Warren Muir        OBB        114
Ian Smith         MIVA        104
Mike Sevcov        Everti        100
Lionel Space        MIVA          96
Ian Hay        MIVA          87
KyleWaring        MIVA          59
Mark Wieler        Arrowsmith      59
Rob Bau        MIVA          56
Ray Wagner        CVCC          46
Chris Cameron     NRC          41

Glenda Harling    Everti          98
Charlene Hay        MIVA          69
Janna Gillick        HCTC          34
Cheryl Morch        HCTC          25
Colleen Wtorek    HCTC          12
Charlene Stewart    HCTC          10
Olivia Bau        MIVA          10

Brodie Hay         MIVA        105
Mark Grant        Trail/Eatmore      22
James Grant        Trail/Eatmore      12
Hugh Park         CVCC          10

Kit McCaffery        MIVA          85
Dave Kenny        MIVA          30
Al Henderson        Ind.          20
Mike Woodworth    MIVA          15
John Hannon        HCTC          15
Brodie Hay        MIVA          15
Iain Hay        MIVA          10 (plus cone set out weekly)
Kyle Waring        MIVA         10
Janna Gillick        HCTC                  10
Olivia Bau        MIVA          10

Thursday’s MIVA event is a 20km ITT. For more info click HERE.

Thanks to Kit McCaffery for registration and bell, to Sharon Hay, lap board, and to Iain Hay and Rob Russell for course set up and take down.


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.