Featured Stories

Midweek’s Tuesday Night Race Results

August 30, 2006 – Here are the results from last night’s race. Thanks to all those that participated, to Michelle Payne and young Bowie Rheault for help at the line and to the setup and marshalling crew of Dan Rothnie and Craig Fagan.

Note: There will be no Monday Night Event next week (Labour Day), the Tuesday Night Event will be a Prestige Race. Start time 6:45. The following Tuesday Night, the season finale will be a scratch race, with one start for all riders at 6:45.

Early Race – Points Race
20 Laps – 19.6 km – 42 km/h

1. Kris Kurzawinski (ZM Cycling) 12 pts
2. Bruce Camacho (D’Ornellas) 8
3. Elliot Horwitz (Midweek CC) 7
4. Ziggy M (ZM Cycling) 6
5. Mark Antonio (Ind.) 5
6. Toolbox 4
7. Dan Thompson (Madonna Wheelers) 2
8. Ilan Elgar (Ind.) 2
9. Len Ramsay 2
10.Steve Rheault (Midweek CC) 1
11.Mike Barrons (Midweek CC) 1
12.Derek Hsiung (Midweek CC) 0
13.Jordan Kremblewski (Cycle Solutions) 0
14.Ron Baines (Waterloo CC) 0


1. Kurzawinski,Horwitz,Antonio,Toolbox
2. Kurzawinski,Toolbox,Elgar,Rheault
3. Kurzawinski,Antonio,Ramsay,Barrons

Late Race – Points Race
35 Laps – 34.3 km – 47.8 km/h

1. Heath Cockburn (La Bicicletta) 16 pts
2. Jeff Hansen (La Bicicletta) 15
3. Dan Lefebvre (Team RACE) 8
4. Gerard Yates (KHS) 8
5. Darko Ficko (La Bicicletta) 7
6. Paul Rego (CoachChris.ca) 6
7. Brandon Crichton (Symmetrics) 5
8. Josh Hall (KHS) 4
8. Barry Reid (Hooters) 4
10.James McEwen (Midweek CC) 3
10.Matt Kings (Hamilton CC) 3
12.David Fry (Midweek CC) 2
13.Dave Byer (Midweek CC) 2
14.Rob Fletcher (SportSwap) 2
14.Mark Shaw (Chain Reaction) 2
16.Dave Labancz (Neworld) 1
16.Zach Morris (Hamilton CC) 1
16.Paul Dilecce (Wheels of Bloor) 1
17.Greg Cavanagh (Oakville Cyclepath) 0
18.Chris Atkins (La Bicicletta) 0

Sprints:1. Cockburn,Rego,Ficko,Crichton
2. Crichton,McEwen,Ficko,Dilecce
3. Yates,Hansen,Reid,Rego (2x points)
4. Lefebvre,Hansen,Fletcher,Labancz
5. Cockburn,Kings,Byer,Rego
6. Hall,Ficko,Shaw,Z.Morris
7. Cockburn,Hansen,Lefebvre,Fry,Cavanagh,Atkins,Byer,Rego (2x points)
98 Riders

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Midweek’s Tuesday Night Race Results

August 16, 2006 – Conditions were mild but windy for the 81 riders that took part in this week’s Midweek Tuesday Night Races.

In the late race it was the feisty Mike Novo (Cycles Cambridge) that went from the gun, but it was the young gun duo of Damian Kurzawinski (ZM Cycling Club) – provincial espoir champion – and Zach Morris (Hamilton CC)- junior bronze medalist, who were the first to build up a serious lead. This was a deja-vu performance of their stellar perfomance at Sundays CycleSLAM points race, just 48 hrs before.

The duo quickly built up a 20 sec. lead when a four main raiding party of Chris Atkins (La Bicicletta), Paul Rego (CoachChris.ca), Colin Howard (Cyclissimo) and Jean-Paul Tessolin (Pavan) made the most serious bid to get across to the lead. Though they got within spitting distance, this chase would crumble under the pressure put forth by the blistering pace set by the leaders on a very difficult day.

Damian and Zach crossed the line together, after having laid to waste all challengers this Tuesday Night, with Zach giving the win to his breakaway companion. Ten seconds back, star sprinter Chris Atkins won the bunch gallop, just edging Italpasta’s Thorben Wieditz, who was back to racing after his spectacular crash at the CHIN picnic criterium on Canada Day, almost six weeks ago. Glad to see you back.

Thanks to all the riders and volunteers that make this series possible. In particular Craig Fagan and Dan Rothnie who set up and take down the course every week and marshall the course for both races.

Early Race
20 Laps – 19.8 km – 39.8 km/h
1. Dan Thompson (Madonna Wheelers) 29:30
2. Kris Kurzawinski (ZM Cycling Club) all s.t.
3. Dennis Sartori (La Bicicletta)
4. Bruce Camacho (D’Ornellas)
5. Mauro Rizzardo (Pavan)
6. Elliot Horwitz (Midweek CC)
7. Steve Hamilton (Madonna Wheelers)
8. Ilan Elgar (Midweek CC)
9. Ziggy M. (ZM Cycling Club)

Late Race
45 Laps – 44.1 km – 43.4 km/h
1. Damian Kurzawinski (ZM Cycling Club) 1:01:04
2. Zach Morris (Hamilton CC) s.t.
3. Chris Atkins (La Bicicletta) at 10″
4. Thorben Wieditz (Italpasta/Belmire) all s.t.
5. David Fry (Midweek CC)
6. Mike Novo (Cycle Cambridge)
7. Sam Bail (CoachChris.ca)
8. Rodney McEwen (Jet Fuel)
9. Christian Hansen
10.Mark Polsinelli
11.Paul Venturelli (Midweek CC) ??
12.Attila Hajdu (Mississauga BRC)
Primes: Bruce Krip, Damian Kurzawinski

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Midweek’s Tuesday Night Race Results

August 2, 2006 — Here are the results from yesterday night’s races. Midweek CC’s Cycleslam races will be held Aug. 13th at the same location used for our weekly series. Races for all categories, beginners and kids. Selected events are open to Citizen Permit holders. For more info and schedules check www.midweekclub.com.

Early Race
20 Laps – Points Race – 19.6 km – 38.6 km/h
1. Bruce Camacho (D’Ornellas) 11 pts
2. Kris Kurzawinski (ZM Cycling Club) 10 pts
3. Ziggy M. (ZM Cycling Club) 9 pts
4. Mark Sieradzan 9 pts
5. Ken Deering (D’Ornellas) 4 pts
6. Steve Rheault (Midweek CC) 4 pts
7. Dan Thompson (Madonna Wheelers) 1 pts
8. Dennis Sartori (La Bicicletta) 1 pts

Late Race
45 Laps – Points Race – 44.1 km – 43.3 km/h
1. Jeff Schiller (Team RACE) 15 pts
2. Jason Valenti (CoachChris.ca) 12 pts
3. Chris Atkins (La Bicicletta) 12 pts
4. Rodney McEwen (Jet Fuel) 5 pts
5. Jordie Kofman (CoachChris.ca) 4 pts
6. Damian Kurzawinski (ZM Cycling Club) 4 pts
7. Heath Cockburn (La Bicicletta) 3 pts
8. Ed Maset (Pavan) 0 pts
9. Paul Dilecce (Wheels of Bloor) 0 pts
10.Matt Berridge (La Bicicletta) 0 pts
Ties broken by final sprint.

Thanks to Craig Fagan and Dan Rothnie for setup and takedown and course marshalling and to Michelle Payne for help at registration and at the line.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.