Featured Stories

Midweek Tuesday Night Race Finale

September 3, 2007 (Mississauga, ON) – Aug. 28th marked the final event in this season’s Midweek Tues night race series. The late race was the finale in the season-long prestige series. The pace was high from the start, but no major moves stayed away until overall leader Heath Cockburn (La Bicicletta) and Zach Morris (Jet Fuel) went clear in the closing laps and built up almost a one minute lead.

Cockburn would take the sprint in what he said was his last race ever. Heath and his wife Mardi are expecting a baby this fall. Cockburn has been the most dominant rider in the ten year history of this series, and was the first overall champion when the series began in 1997 at Aeropark in Mississauga, just north of the current circuit at Buckhorn and Tahoe.

Midweek Cycling Club would like to thank our sponsors including: La Bicicletta, Amino Vital, Nissan Canada and MCOR Logistics and the riders, volunteers and supporters that have made the events we’ve organized thus far this season a success.

Thanks to our Monday Night coaches: Jeff Archbold, Len Ramsay, Steve Hamilton, Dan Thompson and our hardworking Tues. night race crew including: Craig Fagan, Dan Rothnie, Alan Forde and Michelle Payne and many other regular volunteers.

Starting Tuesday Sept. 4th Midweek CC will run a weekly cyclocross training session and race night . Meet at the ski chalet, start time : 6:45 pm

Riders are required to hold an OCA Citizen Permit or UCI License. Check Cyclocross Ontario (http://cyclocrossontario.com/) for the most up-to-date information on Ontario Cyclocross related events.

Sunday Sept. 16th Midweek CC will run the Hell’n’Back Tour as a Midweek CC training event and is open to all full and associate members of Midweek CC. 70 km and 140 km routes will be available. For more info check www.midweekclub.ca

Early Race
20 Laps — 19.6 km

1. Kris Kurzawinski (Midweek CC) all s.t.
2. Bruce Camacho (D’Ornellas)
3. Elliot Horwitz (Midweek CC)
4. Johnny Edgehill (D’Ornellas)
5. Dawid Kurzawinski (Midweek CC)
6. Jeff Green ??
7. Jeremey Maclellan (Ind.)

Jack Wierzbicki Prestige Race
35 Laps — 34.3 km

1. Heath Cockburn (La Bicicletta) 48:00
2. Zach Morris (Jet Fuel) s.t.
3. Dan Lefebvre (Team RACE) at 45″
4. Rob D’Amico (Invita Racing) all s.t.
5. Ed Veal (Cyclissimo)
6. Peter Morse (Jet Fuel)
7. Josh Hall (KHS)
8. Jeff Hansen (Jet Fuel)
9. Gerard Yeates (Pedal Performance)
10.Eric Davis (Cycle4MS)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.