Featured Stories

Midweek Club Tuesday Night Races

September 6, 2006 — Yesterday’s Tuesday races marked the final event in the 5-race Jack Wierzbicki Prestige Series. Heath Cockburn (La Bicicletta) had already clinched the series with an unassailable 13-point lead over second place Rodney McEwen (Jet Fuel), but this opened up the door for ERTC’s Jonathan Wood, who would take his first Tues. Night Series win, narrowly beating Ed Makarchuk (KHS) and Chris Atkins (La Bicicletta) in a close sprint.

Jack Wierzbicki Prestige Race #5
40 Laps – 39.2 km – 43.1 km/h

1. Jonathan Wood (ERTC) 54:34
2. Ed Makarchuk (KHS) all s.t.
3. Chris Atkins (La Bicicletta)
4. Dan Lefebvre (Team R.A.C.E.)
5. Mike Viel (Pavan)
6. Mike Moore (Team R.A.C.E.)
7. Matt Kings (Hamilton CC)
8. Kris Kurzawinski (ZM Cycling)
9. Doug Holt (D’Ornellas)
10.Jeremey Rethazy (Midweek CC)

42 Starters

Final Jack Wierzbicki Prestige Series Standings
(After 5 Races)

– Heath Cockburn La Bicicletta S1 38
– Rodney McEwen Jet Fuel S2 25
– Zach Morris Hamilton CC Jr 18
– Dan Lefebvre Team R.A.C.E. S1 17
– Damian Kurzawinski ZM Cycling S1 12
– Jason Valenti CoachChris.ca S1 12
– Thorben Wieditz Italpasta S1 12
– Mike Moore Team R.A.C.E. S1 11
– Jonanthan Wood ERTC S2 10
– Ed Makarchuk KHS S2 9
– Chris Atkins La Bicicletta S1 8
– Peter Morse Jet Fuel S1 8
– Jeff Hansen Jet Fuel S1 7
– Gerard Yates KHS MA 7
– Mark Polsinelli Pavan MB 7
– Keith Moore Jet Fuel S2 7
– Barry Reid Hooters CT MA 7
– Mike Viel Pavan MC 6
– Josh Hall KHS S1 5
– Jordie Kofman CoachChris.ca S2 5
– Paul Rego CoachChris.ca S1 5

Full Prestige Standings and Current Series Standings with one event remaining are posted “>here.

Next week will be the season finale for the Monday Night Learn-to-Race Series and Tues. Night Series. Start time both days is 6:45.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Midweek Club Tuesday Night Races

July 26, 2006 — Here are the results from yesterday’s Midweek Club Tuesday Night Races.

Early Race
22 Laps – 21.56 km – 40.4 km/h

1. Kris Kurzawinski (ZM Cycling Club) 32:00
2. Dan Thompson (Madonna Wheelers) s.t.
3. Bruce Camacho (D’Ornellas) s.t.
4. Mauro Rizzardo (Pavan) s.t.
5. Ben Beneditz (Pavan) s.t.
6. Wayne Henry (Madonna Wheelers) s.t.
7. Mark Sieradzan s.t.
8. Ron Baines (Waterloo CC) s.t.
9. Peter Hein (Madonna Wheelers) s.t.

Late Race
52 Laps – 50.9 km – 44.9 km/h

1. Chris Atkins (La Bicicletta) 1:08:17
2. Jeff Hansen (Jet Fuel) s.t.
3. Sean Bechtel (Caledon Hills) s.t.
4. Heath Cockburn (La Bicicletta) at 16″
5. Rodney McEwen (Jet Fuel) s.t.
6. David Fry (Midweek CC) s.t.
7. Paul Rego (CoachChris.ca) s.t.
8. Paul Greene (Chain Reaction) s.t.
9. Ed Veal (Cyclissimo) s.t.
10.Dan Lefebvre (Team RACE) s.t.
11.Michael Hruska (Brant’s Cycle) s.t.
Primes: Ed Veal (2), Heath Cockburn
84 Starters

July 18, 2006
Early Race
20 Laps – 19.6 km – 40.5 km/h
1. Dennis Sartori (La Bicicletta) 28:54
2. Ben Beneditz (Pavan) s.t.
3. Dan Thompson (Madonna Wheelers) s.t.
4. Tyrone Singh (Zm Cycling Club) s.t.

Late Race
50 Laps – 49.0 km – 45.2 km/h
1. Rodney McEwen (Jet Fuel) 1:04:58
2. Jeff Hansen (Jet Fuel) s.t.
3. David Fry (Midweek CC) s.t.
4. Jason Valenti (CoachChris.ca) s.t.
5. Gerard Yates (KHS) s.t.
6. Darko Ficko (La Bicicletta) s.t.
7. Ed Veal (Cyclissimo) s.t.
8. Dan Thompson (Madonna Wheelers) s.t.
9. Peter Morse (Jet Fuel) s.t.
10.Dave Labancz (Ind.) s.t.
Primes: Heath Cockburn (2), David Fry, Jason Valenti, Peter Morse, Jeff Hansen
92 Starters

Thanks to our medic Adam Hobbs, Michelle Payne at registration and Craig Fagan and Dan Rothnie for set up and marshalling during the race.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Midweek Club Tuesday Night Races

May 10, 2006 — Conditions were perfect yesterday for the Midweek Tues. Night Races. This week an early race was added to accommodate Sr.3/Masters women and riders who are not yet ready to make the step up to the open race. The group stayed intact for most of the event and the inevitable sprint was taken by Dan Thompson of Madonna Wheelers.

This week’s late race was the premier event in the Jack Wierzbicki Memorial Prestige race series, which is a series within the Tuesday night series and carries it’s own independent points ranking and trophy.

Ital Pasta’s new addition Thorben Wieditz started off the attacks with a strong move in the opening lap. But despite many powerful moves off the front including a 4-lap escape by La Bicicletta’s Darko Ficko and Jason Valenti of CoachChris.ca, which netted a prime win for Ficko. The pack came together for the final sprint which was taken by La Bicicletta’s Heath Cockburn, the man who has established himself as the most dominant rider in the history of the Midweek weekly series.

Thanks to Midweek’s Craig Fagan and Dan Rothnie for set up and take down and to Peter Rodirigues and Bobby Mrvelj and his kids for minding the lap counter during the races. See you all next week.

Early Race
20 Laps – 19.6 km – 43.5 km/h avg.
1. Dan Thompson (Madonna Wheelers) 26:55
2. Marc Sullivan (Midweek CC) all st.
3. Dennis Sartori (La Bicicletta)
4. Jeremey Rethazy (Midweek CC)
5. Steve Hamilton (Madonna Wheelers)
6. Bruce Camacho (D’Ornellas)
7. Red Jersey
8. Hugh Carter (Madonna Wheelers)
9. Rod Olliver (Open Access)
10.Pierre Perrin (D’Ornellas)
11. Liza Miranda (Midweek CC)

Late Race
44 Laps – 43.12 km – 43.8 km/h avg.
1. Heath Cockburn (La Bicicletta) S1 59:00
2. Dan Lefevre (Team RACE) S1 all st.
3. Jason Valenti (CoachChris.ca) S1
4. Jeff Hansen (Jet Fuel) S1
5. Thorben Wieditz (Ital Pasta) S1
6. Jordan Kofman (CoachChris.ca) S3
7. Damian Kurzawinski (ZM Cycling Team) S1
8. Rob Chiocca (Wheels of Bloor) MA
9. Rob Zuech (Wheels of Bloor) MA
10.Mark Shaw (Chain Reaction) MC

70 Starters
Primes: Thorben Wieditz, Darko Ficko (La Bicicletta)

1. Merrill Collins (La Bicicletta) 59:00
2. Julia Farrell (Wheels of Bloor) st.
3. Heather Davidson-Meyn (W of Bloor)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.