Featured Stories

Kokanee Crankworkx 2006 – Kokanee Slopestyle and Nissan Biker X

July 30, 2006 (Whistler, BC) – Yesterday over 15,000 spectators witnessed just how far mountain biking has progressed at the 3rd annual Kokanee Crankworx Mountain Bike Festival. Cameron Zink of Dayton, NV took the title from reigning Slopestyle champion Paul Basagoita of Minden, NV with a run including the most progressive trick of the night; a backflip X-up one-footer on the course’s massive step-up.

“This year Whistler Blackcomb made every obstacle in the Boneyard bigger and better than anything we’ve ever seen,” says Paul Rak, Kokanee Crankworx head judge. “The riders matched that, and the way they are pushing the sport is incredible.”

One of the most spectacular obstacles was the Gap-O-Tron at the bottom of the course. Towering over 22ft, the feature housed a screen that projected each run onto it and involved three wooden ramp step-ups to reach the pinnacle and final drop.

For the first time ever the event was held as an open competition with all riders qualifying for the finals on July 27. Historically the Kokanee Slopestyle has been invitational, but feedback from past competitors led organizers to open up the competition.

The third annual Kokanee Crankworx Mountain Bike Festival will wrap on Sunday, July 30 with the Kona Jump Jam and the Garbanzo Enduro Downhill.

Kokanee Crankworx showcases Whistler as the ultimate downhill biking playground by combining impressive stunt sessions and mind-blowing speed events with the world’s best mountain bikers competing for cash and prizing totaling over $30,000. The event line-up, which takes place in Whistler Blackcomb’s famed mountain bike park and throughout Whistler Village, also includes an outdoor expo, pro riding demonstrations, free music and entertainment.

Kokanee Crankworx is presented in partnership by Tourism Whistler, Whistler Blackcomb and the Resort Municipality of Whistler. At centre stage of Kokanee Crankworx is the Whistler Mountain Bike Park. With over 200 km and 3,855 feet of lift-serviced gravity-fed, adrenaline-fueled descending trails, the Bike Park is the unequivocal leader of lift-accessed mountain bike parks in the world.

For more information about Kokanee Crankworx – Whistler’s premier freeride mountain bike festival – please visit www.crankworx.com

Kokanee Slopestyle
Saturday, July 29, 2006


1 Cameron Zink (Dayton, NV) Haro, Troy Lee Design, Crank Bros, RockShox, Ride-This 34.2
2 Cameron Mccaul (Aptos, CA) Trek, Fox, TSG, Manitou, Shimano 33.2
3 Kyle Strait (Redlands, CA) Oakley, Specialized, Fox, and Red Bull 32.2
4 Ben Boyko (North Vancouver, BC) Cove Bikes, SRAM, FSA, Sombrio 32.1
5 Darren Berrecloth (Qualicum Beach, BC) Specialized 31.5
6 Ryder Kasprick (Parksville, BC) Iron Horse Bikes, SRAM/ Blackbox Labs 29.3
7 Thomas Vanderham (North Vancouver, BC) Rocky Mountain/Business Objects, Fox, Marzocchi, Oakley 28

8 Lance Mcdermott (Manchester, UK) 24 Seven Bikes, Adidas 24.4
9 Kyle Ebbett (Essex Junction, VT) Scott USA, SRAM, SDG E-13, Crank Bros, 661 21.7
10 Christopher Hatton (Vernon, NJ) Cannondale 21.4
11 Pierre-Edouard Ferry (Lyons, France) Specialized, Adidas, gohuckyourself.com 20.9
12 Paul Basagoita (Minden, NV) Kona, Race Face, Smith, Giro 11.9
13 Andreu Lacondeguy (Spain) 11.6
14 Kurtis Sorge (Nelson, BC) Raceface, Giant, Manitou, Lakes, Smith
15 Ross Mcmaster (Whistler, BC) ride-this.com, artbarnfilm.com
16 Garett Buehler (Nelson, BC) Cove, Ridge
17 Kyle Mcdonald (Whistler, BC) Summit Sport, Troy Lee Designs, Dakine

18 Kelly Mcgarry (Nelson, New Zealand) Spy, KRD imports
19 Ryan Meyer (S. Delta, BC) Marzocchi, IDUN, Hayes Brakes, THE
20 Wade Simmons (North Vancouver, BC) Rocky Mountain/Business Objects

21 Lluis Lacondeguy (Barcelona, Spain) Adidas, Marzochhi
22 Greg Watts (Aptos, CA) Subaru Gary Fisher, Fox Shox
23 Mike Hopkins (Rossland, BC) Scott Bikes, Smith Optics, Giro, Titec

Nissan Biker X
Friday, July 28, 2006

Pro Women

1 Jill Kinter (WA) GT Bicycles, Oakley, Red Bull 1:00.7
2 Fionn Griffiths (GBR) Norco Factory Team 3.79
3 Leana Gerrard (WA) Bear Naked Cannondale 6.68
4 Emily Johnston (CO) Deity, Magura, Go-Ride 10.04
5 Michelle Dumaresq (AB) Santa Cruz, NSMB.com 6.52

Pro Men

1 Jared Graves (CO) Yeti Fox Racing Factory Team 51.63
2 Cedric Gracia (AND) Commencal, Six Six One, Bell, Oakley 0.66
3 Mick Hannah (AUS) The Cut, Cannondale 2.15
4 Brian Lopes (CA) GT, Oakley 1.45
5 Bryn Atkinson (AUS) GT Bicycles, Gate Eight 2.26
6 Eric Carter (CA) Rock Shox, Shimano, Michelin 3.89
7 Chris Kovarik (AUS) MS Intense Factory Racing 2.82
8 Nathan Rennie (AUS) Santa Cruz Syndicate/SRAM/RockShox/TLD 5.01
9 Michal Marosi CZE RSP, Red Bull 3.01
10 Cody Warren (CA) Haro Bikes, Kenda, Manitou 3.52
11 Amiel Cavalier (CA) 3.64
12 Andrew Mitchell (BC) Cove, Sram 4.02
13 Josh Toland (CA) 4.36
14 Jared Rando (AUS) Team Giant 4.39
15 Andrew Neethling (RSA) Mongoose 4.85
16 Justin Leov (CO) Yeti Fox Racing Factory Team 4.89
17 TJ Sharp (CO) Yeti Fox Racing Factory Team 5.69
18 Adam Muys (BC) 6.04
19 JS Therrien (BC) Transition Bikes, Dincus, SunRingle 6.25
20 Lars Sternberg (WA) Fluidride, Ironhorse 6.49
21 Brian Gerrard (WA) 7.45
22 Mike Harderer (CA) Fox Shox, Yeti Cycles 7.57
23 Geraci Kyler 9.23
24 Stu Hilder (BC) 9.89
25 Mason Mashon (BC) voleurz.com, Brodie, Isdesign 28.07
26 Ross Bergstrom (BC) 01:04.1

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.