Featured Stories

KBC-Driedaagse De Panne – Stages 1-3b Final – Willems Wins

by pedalmag.com

April 2, 2009 (Koksijde, Belgium) – Here is a recap of the KBC-Driedaagse De Panne, which took place in Belgium, March 31 through April 2. Canada’s Svein Tuft (Can) Garmin-Slipstream finished seventh in the final Stage 3b yesterday afternoon, a 14.75km individual TT won by team mate Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Garmin-Slipstream.

Many of the big guns used this race as a sharpener for the coming weekend’s highlight, the Tour of Flanders. Frederik Willems (Bel) Liquigas won the GC, while Tuft was ranked 90th overall. Everyone is talking about the fact that the young up-and-coming charger Mark Cavendish (GBr) Columbia-Highroad out-powered veteran sprinter extraordinaire Robbie McEwan (Aus) Katusha on the finishing straight during the three-day race.

Results (brief)

Stage 1

1. Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Team Katusha 4:37:01
2. Frederik Willems (Bel) Liquigas
3. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) Silence-Lotto 0:57
4. Borut Bozic (Slo) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
5. Grega Bole (Slo) Amica Chips-Knauf
6. Martijn Maaskant (Ned) Garmin-Slipstream
7. Assan Bazayev (Kaz) Astana
8. Vincent Jerome (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom
9. Marco Finetto (Ita) CSF Group-Navigare
10. Steve Chainel (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom

66. Svein Tuft (Can) Garmin-Slipstream

Stage 2

1. Mark Cavendish (GBr) Team Columbia-Highroad 5:07:39
2. Robbie McEwen (Aus) Team Katusha
3. Francesco Chichi (Ita) Liquigas
4. Simone Cadamuro (Ita) Amica Chips-Knauf
5. Kenny Robert Van Hummel (Ned) Skil-Shimano
6. Chris Sutton (Aus) Garmin-Slipstream
7. Wouter Weylandt (Bel) Quick Step
8. Sébastien Turgot (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom
9. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) Silence-Lotto
10. Francesco Rivera (Ita) Amica Chips-Knauf

72. Svein Tuft (Can) Garmin-Slipstream

Stage 3a

1. Mark Cavendish (GBr) Columbia-Highroad
2. Robbie McEwen (Aus) Katusha
3. André Schulze (Ger) PSK Whirlpool-Author
4. Angelo Furlan (Ita) Lampre-NGC
5. Robert Foerster (Ger) Milram
6. Wouter Weylandt (Bel) Quick Step
7. Borut Bozic (Slo) Vacansoleil
8. Kenny van Hummel (Ned) Skil-Shimano
9. Mark Renshaw (Aus) Columbia-Highroad
10. Pieter Vanspeybrouck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator

128. Svein Tuft (Can) Garmin-Slipstream 6:48

Stage 3b

1. Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Garmin-Slipstream 18:01
2. Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team 0:20
3. Stijn Devolder (Bel) Quick Step 0:32
4. Joost Posthuma (Ned) Rabobank 0:34
5. Bert Grabsch (Ger) Team Columbia-Highroad 0:36
6. Rick Flens (Ned) Rabobank 0:38
7. Svein Tuft (Can) Garmin-Slipstream 0:41
8. Jens Mouris (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team 0:48
9. Mikhail Ignatiev (Rus) Team Katusha 0:50
10. Sebastian Lang (Ger) Silence-Lotto

GC after Stage 3b

1. Frederik Willems (Bel) Liquigas 12:34:57
2. Joost Posthuma (Ned) Rabobank 0:19
3. Tom Leezer (Ned) Rabobank 0:54
4. Manuel Quinziato (Ita) Liquigas 1:00
5. Gregory Henderson (NZl) Team Columbia-Highroad 1:02
6. Borut Bozic (Slo) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team 1:03
7. Martijn Maaskant (Ned) Garmin-Slipstream 1:12
8. Leif Hoste (Bel) Silence-Lotto 1:19
9. Steve Chainel (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom 1:22
10. Marco Finetto (Ita) CSF Group-Navigare

90 Svein Tuft (Can) Garmin-Slipstream 19:27

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.