Featured Stories

Juniors Win NAS-TRACK\’s CanAm Challenge

September 6, 2005 – The future of cycling looks good if the results of Friday’s Can Am challenge at the Velodrome at Bloomer Park foretell anything.

Youngster Eric Robertson of Hamilton, Ontario and Luke Cavendar of Troy, answered the challenges and expertise of NAS-TRACK’S Elite racers with perfectly timed sprints and brilliant strategy to end up with a well-deserved victory. Both juniors, the pair used their unique experiences as Madison racers and their go-power to accomplish the win.

Cavendar, 17, is a favorite at the Velodrome at Bloomer Park and considered a standout junior in the nation, earning four top-10 finishes in this season’s Junior National Championship in Trexlertown, Pennsylvania. The youngster, a student at Brother Rice High School, has been racing on the 200 meter velodrome since it opened three years ago.

Robertson gained his strength as a youngster doing local racers in Canada. He visited the Rochester Hills velodrome last season but picked up his finesse at the new Forest City Velodrome in London, Ontario. That track, 138 meters and indoors, produced a crop of racers who competed in Friday’s competition, Robertson among them

Other Canadian racers on the boards Friday night included NAS-TRACK regulars Taylor Martin and Rob Good plus John Craig, Dave St. John, Kurt Schreier and Vince DeJong. Schreier paired with American Bruce Carlson in the AA category won the evening’s competition among that group.

Racers come back for one final race on Sunday, Sept. 18th at 3pm for NAS-TRACK’s SOUPerBOWL SUNDAY competition. Racing promises to be as excellent as ever as racers wrap up a fantastic season of Team Racing on the Velodrome at Bloomer Park, located at the end of John R in Rochester Hills. For more information on the track or NAS-TRACK programming, please contact Dale Hughes at 248-961-3705.

“A” Elite
1st -Team Pink – Canadian Eric Roberts & Luke Cavender
2nd – TeamTeal – Tony Bruley & Dave Teal
3rd – Team Orange – Rick Denman & Dave Starling
4th – Team Purple – Canadian John Craig & Steve Mlyjeak
5th – Team Neon – Ronnie Sink & Cullen Watkins
6th – Team Red – Canadian Rob Good & Matt Walp
7th – Team White – Canadian Taylor Martin & Rob Akers

1st – Team Tan – Canadian Kurt Scheier & Bruce Carlson
2nd – Team Red – Candian Dave St.John & Ken Starling
3rd – Team Gold – Canadian Vince Dejong & Rene Schroeder
4th – Team White – Craig VonSeeger & Ed Gostin
5th – Team Black – Dean Martone & Mike Bauhof

Many thanks to the Canadian riders from the Forest City Velodrome in London, Ont for traveling, racing and competing! Remember ever Saturday Night starting next week until Xmas there is racing on the London track!See ya at SOUPerBOWL SUNDAY,

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.