Featured Stories

Junior Pam Am Track Championships Day Three Update, Photos – Beveridge Wins Silver

report by Rob Good/CCA

April 14, 2011 (Mar del Plata, Argentina) – Another solid performance for Team Canada at the Junior Pan American Championships in Mar del Plata Argentina. The day started with a gold medal in the men’s Individual Pursuit and ended with a silver medal in the women’s Scratch race.

Calgary’s Allison Beveridge was just pipped at the line by Mexico’s Ingrid Drexel.  Many attacks we covered by Nina Nesdoly early in the race. In the end Nesdoly finished a very respectable 5th in a very hard race.  Beveridge will now get ready for the women’s Omnium on Friday.

In women’s sprint competition Audrey Labrie was knocked out in the quarter finals and finished 7th overall. Kris Ovsenek, had a good ride in the kilo to finish 7th.

The men’s team Pursuit qualified 4th in a time of 4:42.3, not bad for a group of riders doing their first effort together.  As the team prepared for the bronze medal round the team decided to go after their opponents by gearing up an going for a sub 4:40 time in the 4km event.  

Early in the final the team of Kyle Buckosky, Aiden Caves, Emile Jean and Alex Cataford made the team from Chile hurt as they were on schedule and finished the event in a time of 4:38.2 – four seconds fast than their qualifying time. The only problem was that the team from Chile went 4:32 to take the bronze. The kids were very pleased with their excellent result.

Friday will be anther big day for the Canadians with the men’s and women’s Omnium, men’s Madison and men’s Sprints.

Day three morning session report, results and more photos here.

Results (brief)

Women’s Scratch Race
1. Ingrid Drexel (Mexico)
2. Alison Beveridge (Canada)
3. Denisse Ahumada (Chile)
4. Andrea Fernanda Guillen (Guatemala)
5. Nina Nesdoly (Canada)
6. Nicolle Marie Bruderer (Guatemala)
7. Karla Daniela Vallejos (Chile)
8. Vanesa Rios (Argentina)
DNF Ana María Hernandez (Mexico)
DNF Micaela Peralta (Argentina)
Men’s Team Pursuit
1. Mexico
2. Argentina
3. Chile
4. Canada (Kyle Buckosky, Aiden Caves, Emile Jean, Alex Cataford)

Men’s Kilo
1. Ismael Verdugo (Mexico) 01:06.6
2. Christopher Samaniego (Ecuador) 01:07.4
3. Gabriel Gutierrez (Argentina) 01:08.6
4. Alexander Quincy (Trinidad and Tobago) 01:08.6
5. Juan Pablo Serrano (Argentina) 01:09.0
6. Riky Gordillo (Ecuador) 01:09.1
7. Kristofer Peter Ousenek (Canada) 01:09.9
8. Matias Ibañez (Uruguay) 01:10.9
9. Javed Mounter (Barbados) 01:12.3
DNS Emanuel Cardozo (Uruguay)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.