Featured Stories

Gran Prix of Gloucester Day 1 Report, Results – Rochette 4th, Van den Ham 5th

report by Gran Prix of Gloucester

October 15, 2016 (Gloucester, Mass.) – The CRAFT Sportswear Gran Prix of Gloucester Presented by Ipswich Ale Brewing, now in its 18th year, was the kick off weekend of competition of the Vittoria Northeast Cyclocross Series presented by Cycle-Smart. Ellen Noble (Aspire Racing) took a commanding win in the Elite Women’s Category 2 (C2) race over second place Helen Wyman (Kona Factory Racing). Curtis White (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com) took the win for the Elite Men in a time of 1 hour, 1 minute and 2 seconds. Gloucester, known as “New England Worlds,” is the first of four race weekends that comprise the Vittoria Series, the only UCI series in the US and a part of the USA Cycling Professional Cyclo-cross Calendar (Pro CX).

Women's podium  ©  Angelica Dixon

Noble, claiming her first Pro CX win of the year in a time of 44 minutes and 51 seconds, has had high finishes each week since early September and is currently the U23 World Cup leader and sits third overall on the Pro CX individual points standings. Early in the race, a group of three separated, including Noble, Wyman, and Emma White (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld.com). Noble attacked with three laps to go, a decisive move which brought her to the line 24 seconds over second place Wyman. White would finish third, 47 seconds off the pace..

Noble was thrilled to take the victory at what is essentially a hometown race for the Kennebunkport, Maine native. “I won this as an amateur. So to be able to do this as a pro is pretty cool. It feels amazing.”

Noble spoke to how the race unfolded. “Emma (White), Helen (Wyman) and I were all together for a lot of laps today. So we were together for a while and Helen was just attacking off the front like every turn, and she put in some really big ones. So I knew something would have to happen soon, because we weren’t going to be able to stay with her much longer. Eventually, we got up (in front of Emma) after one of Helen’s attacks, and I felt like that was my best chance to go, and it lined up perfectly. It was right before those tight turns before the finish. So I made a pass there, and really tried to drill it right through those. I got a small gap. You just have to go all in at that point and maintain it.” Noble confirmed she will not race on day two.

Michael van Den Ham (far left)  ©  Angelica Dixon

Men’s Race
In the Men’s C2 race, White took his second Pro CX win of the year following his C2 win at KMC Cross Fest, held in Thompson, Conn. Group tactics ruled the day with a large group of riders staying together for the first several laps. But it would be White who would dictate the pace early and repeatedly attack to shed down the group. White made a move with six laps to go. “I was feeling good. I think a lot of guys were looking back for Powers to see when he was coming up. But the race was happening there and I decided to hit it one section with a big group behind me, and I punch it again. It was a risk to go that early, but I am sure it paid off. Tactics did come into play. Once the gap grew past a certain point, I had to put in TT (time trial) mode.”

A chasing group of five riders would decide the remaining podium spots in a bunch sprint. Daniel Summerhill (Maxxis-Shimano Pro Cyclocross) won the group sprint for second place, just beating out Jeremy Durrin (Neon Velo Cycling) for third. They finished 32 seconds behind White.

Results (brief)

Pro Women
1. Ellen Noble (Aspire Racing) 44:51
2. Helen Wyman (Kona Factory Racing) 45:15
3. Emma White (Cannondale Cyclocrossworld) 45:38
4. Maghalie Rochette (LUNA Pro Team)    45:58
5. Crystal Anthony (maxxis-shimano pro cyclocross)    46:25
6. Ruby West (Cannondale Cyclocrossworld.com)    46:35
7. Christel Ferrier-bruneau (SAS-MACOGEP-Acquisio)    46:51
8. Jena Greaser (Independent)    47:03
9. Kathryn Cumming (Jalapeno Cycling)    47:27
10. Amira Mellor (NEXT Wyman Kona)    47:39

13. Natasha Elliott (Garneau – Easton Cycling)    47:55

Pro Men
1. Curtis White (Cannondale pb Cyclocrossworld.c)    1:01:02
2. Daniel Summerhill (Maxxis-Shimano)    1:01:34
3. Jeremy Durrin (Neon Velo Cycling Team)    1:01:34
4. Coop Willsey (Cannondale pb Cyclocrossworld D)    1:01:35
5. Michael Van den Ham (Garneau – Easton Cycling)    1:01:35
6. Adam Craig (Giant Factory off-Road Team)    1:01:38
7. Jack Kisseberth (JAM NCC)    1:02:18
8. Antonin Marecaille (avc aix en provence)    1:02:23
9. Travis Livermon (Maxxis-Shimano Pro Cyclocross)    1:02:29
10. Carl Decker (Giant Factory Off-Road team)    1:02:30

17. Derrick St John (Van Dessel pb Hyperthreads)    1:04:31
21. Marc-andre Daigle (Garneau Easton Cycling)    1:05:19
50. Jean-philippe Thibault-roberge (Trek Cyclocross Collective)    53:15

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.