Featured Stories

GP Stad Roeselare Full Results, Photos – Neben Scores, Numainville 17th UPDATED

report by HTC-Highroad Women

April 24, 2011 (Belgium) – HTC-Highroad’s Amber Neben rode to an impressive triumph in the Stad Roeselare Classic in Belgium on Sunday, the 36-year-old’s first ever victory in a one-day Classic. Neben took off around 20 kilometers from the line and stayed away for a lone win, with team-mate Adrie Visser then taking third and giving HTC-Highroad two places out of three on the victory podium.

“I cannot recall ever having won a one-day Classic before, so that’s really exciting,” Neben said about her fifth win of the 2011 season. “This is bike racing, the timing has to be right, and I felt that going for it at 20 kilometers or so was the right moment.”

“Adrie had just come up to my group so I felt I should take that risk and attack, knowing I had a team-mate there.”

“It was difficult but I felt good and after how hard the race had been all day, I felt that if I could get a gap I might be able to make it work.”

“When I got to five kilometers and I still had 45 seconds I thought I could stick it. A lot of people say ‘ten seconds for every kilometer’ so I figured it was going to be close, but I still had a little bit of energy and good rhythm.”

“But you don’t take anything for granted and I didn’t want to celebrate until I saw the finish line.”

“All six HTC-Highroad riders were there in the front group of around forty after the first seven climbs which was really impressive,” added HTC-Highroad sports director Jens Zemke, “And we were in the perfect position to start piling on the pressure.”

“We made some good moves and finally it was Amber’s that stuck, she initially gained fifteen seconds and although other teams counter-attacked, none of them succeeded and by the finish her gap more than doubled.”

“She really showed her strength, like the former World Champion she is.”


1. Amber Neben (USA) Team HTC-Highroad Women 3:34:05
2. Emma Johansson (Swe) Team Hitec Products Uck 0:36
3. Adrie Visser (Ned) Team HTC-Highroad Women
4. Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Lotto Honda Team
5. Martine Bras (Ned) Dolmans Landscaping Team
6. Kirsten Wild (Ned) AA Drink Leontien.nl
7. Elizabeth Armitstead (Gbr) Team Garmin Cervélo
8. Liesbet De Vocht (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen Ridley 2012
9. Christine Majerus (Lux) Team GSD Gestion
10. Sarah Düster (Ger) Nederland Bloeit
11. Andrea Bosman (Ned) W.V. Eemland
12. Sara Mustonen (Swe) Team Hitec Products Uck
13. Chloe Hosking (Aus) Team HTC-Highroad Women
14. Sofie De Vuyst (Bel) Lotto Honda Team
15. Marie Lindberg (Swe) ABUS Nutrixxion
16. Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Nederland Bloeit
17. Joëlle Numainville (Can) Team TIBCO To The Top
18. Helen Wyman (Gbr)
19. Grace Verbeke (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen Ridley 2012
20. Lise Nøstvold (Nor) Team Hitec Products Uck
21. Charlotte Becker (Ger) Team HTC-Highroad Women
22. Emilia Fahlin (Swe) Team HTC-Highroad Women
23. Amanda Spratt (Aus)
24. Patricia Schwager (Sui) Nederland Bloeit
25. Ashleigh Moolman (Sui) Lotto Honda Team
26. Annelies Van Doorslaer (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen Ridley 2012
27. Sharon Laws (Gbr) Team Garmin Cervélo
28. Ann-sophie Duyck (Bel) Wielerclub Steeds Vooraan Kontich W.
29. Jessie Daams (Bel) Team Garmin Cervélo
30. Amanda Miller (USA) Team HTC-Highroad Women
31. Shara Gillow (Aus)
32. Tatiana Antoshina (Rus) Gauss
33. Chantal Blaak (Ned) AA Drink Leontien.nl 0:47
34. Heleen Van Vliet (Ned) AA Drink Leontien.nl
35. Linda Villumsen (Nzl) AA Drink Leontien.nl
36. Irene Van De Broek (Ned) AA Drink Leontien.nl
37. Maaike Polspoel (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen Ridley 2012 0:49
38. Lieselot Decroix (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen Ridley 2012
39. Ludivine Henrion (Bel) Lotto Honda Team 0:52
40. Natalie Van Gogh (Ned) Specialized DPD Pakketservice Women 7:45
41. Suzanne De Goede (Ned) Skil Koga
42. Anna-bianca Schnitzmeier (Ger) ABUS Nutrixxion
43. Mascha Pijnenborg (Ned) Dolmans Landscaping Team
44. Vera Koedooder (Ned) Specialized DPD Pakketservice Women
45. Yulia Iliynikh (Rus)
46. Nathalie Lamborelle (Lux) ABUS Nutrixxion
47. Jessica Glasbergen (Ned) W.V. Eemland
48. Emilie Moberg (Nor) Team Hitec Products Uck
49. Pascale Schnider (Sui)
50. Davina Summers (Aus) Bizkaia-Durango
51. Petra Dijkman (Ned) Dolmans Landscaping Team
52. Inge Roggeman (Bel) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team
53. Laure Werner (Bel) Lotto Honda Team
54. Janneke Ensing (Ned) Dolmans Landscaping Team
55. Linda Ringlever (Ned) Moving Ladies
56. Sanne Bamelis (Bel) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team
57. Catherine Delfosse (Bel) Lotto Honda Team
58. Annelies Visser (Ned) Batavus Ladies Cycling Team
59. Genevieve Whitson (Nzl)
60. Natalie Creswick (Gbr) Rapha Racing
61. Leah Guloien (Can) Team Canada
62. Miriam Bjørnsrud (Nor) Ladies Cyclingteam Water, Land En Dijken
63. Lucy Martin (Gbr) Team Garmin Cervélo
64. Alexandra Burchenkova (Rus)
65. Svetlana Bubnenkova (Rus) Team Fenixs Kuota
66. Emma Silversides (Gbr) Sengers Ladies Cycling Team
67. Noortje Tabak (Ned) Nederland Bloeit
68. Roxane Knetemann (Ned) Skil Koga
69. Amy Pieters (Ned) Skil Koga
70. Natalia Boyarskaya (Rus)
71. Iris Slappendel (Ned) Team Garmin Cervélo
72. Irina Molicheva (Rus)
73. Leah Kirchmann (Can) Team Canada
74. Trine Schmidt (Den) Team Garmin Cervélo
75. Lauren Kitchen (Aus)
76. Anna Fischer (Ger) ABUS Nutrixxion

DNF Joanie Caron (Can) Team Canada
DNF Julia Garnet (Can) Team Canada
DNF Anne-Marie Morin (Can) Team Canada
DNF Jenny Trew (Can) Team Canada
DNF Karlee Gendron (Can) Team Canada
DNF Alison Testroete (Canada) Skil-Koga

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.