Featured Stories

GOLD for Team Canada in Men’s Team Pursuit at Apeldoorn UCI Track World Cup + Takes Overall Lead

by pedalmag.com
Men's Team Pursuit podium  ©  Guy Swarbrick
November 12, 2016 (Apeldoorn, NED) – With classy riding from the get-go Team Canada captured historic gold in the Men’s Team Pursuit final in Apeldoorn for their first-ever victory while claiming the overall UCI Track World Cup series lead as well.

Canadian Men's Team Pursuit (l-r) Bayley Simpson, Adam Jamieson, Jay Lamoureux, Aidan Caves  ©  Guy Swarbrick
The squad of Ed Veal (Toronto, ON), Aidan Caves (Vancouver, BC), Adam Jamieson (Barrie, ON), Jay Lamoureux (Victoria, BC) and Bayley Simpson (Lindsay, ON) are on fire as they upped the ante on their bronze at round #1 in Glasgow, Scotland.
Canadian Men's Team Pursuit (l-r) Bayley Simpson, Adam Jamieson, Ed Veal, Jay Lamoureux, Aiden Caves  ©  Guy Swarbrick
Adam Jamieson and Aidan Caves celebrate  ©  Guy Swarbrick
Canadian Men's Team Pursuit (l-r) Bayley Simpson, Adam Jamieson, Jay Lamoureux, Aidan Caves  ©  Guy Swarbrick
Simpson was back in the mix replacing Veal for the final as they took on Belgium who got the upper hand with a fast start. But the Canucks battled back gaining steadily as the Belgians cracked on the final 1,000m while the Canadians soared with the fastest split and a 4s-margin at the finish to bring home a well-deserved gold.

Team behind the team  ©
Our plan for the first two World Cups was to have a clean run,” explained Ian Melvin, National Men’s Endurance Coach.  “We wanted to get the points to qualify for Worlds so we didn’t have to depend on Cali (World Cup #3).”

Team Canada en route to GOLD  ©  Guy Swarbrick
“It’s a pretty crazy day,” said Aidan Caves, “It’s actually been a pretty crazy month since Nationals, probably one of the best ever.  We were aware that they [Belgium] were probably going to go out hot, but we didn’t panic, because we all knew that we were the stronger team.  We knew that if we stayed strong that we have consistently had a faster final Kilo than most of the other teams, so that’s what we focussed on; to come back from the little bit they were up on us.  It worked out pretty well to plan.”

Team Canada - Mens Team Pursuit (l-r) Simpson, Caves, Lamoureux, Jamieson  ©  Guy Swarbrick
Bayley Simpson said, “We’ve got five guys here who can execute, so we are using everyone to have some fresh legs for each ride.  This was my first trip with the team, and the first ride I got to do was in Glasgow for the bronze medal.  It was nerve-wracking but we executed it that day and then we were able to come here and do it again.  I can’t even put it into words, really.  The time was good; we looked at the past times here when the world championships were here in 2011 and the winning team was a high 4:01, so we are pretty happy with our time.”

Canadian Men's Team Pursuit (l-r) Bayley Simpson, Adam Jamieson, Ed Veal, Aiden Caves, Jay Lamoureux  ©  Guy Swarbrick
In the battle for bronze France handily bested Poland. Canada now has 1,800 points in the UCI Track World Cup Series standings followed by Great Britain in second with 1,700 points and France slotted in third tied with GBR. The next round is in Cali, Colombia on Feb. 17-19.

Adam Jamieson also competed in the men’s Points Race where he finished 7th behind winner Mark Downey from Ireland who won gold.

Adam Jamieson  ©  Guy Swarbrick
Adam Jamieson  ©  Guy Swarbrick

With files from Cycling Canada.


Men’s Team Pursuit

Final for Gold

1. Canada 4:02.144
Aidan Caves
Adam Jamieson
Jay Lamoureux
Bayley Simpson

2. Belgium 4:06.216
Moreno De Pauw
Kenny De Ketele
Robbe Ghys
Gerben Thijssen

Final for Bronze

3. France 4:02.732
Benjamin Thomas
Morgan Kneisky
Adrien Garel
Louis Pijourlet

4. Poland 4:05.443
Szymon Wojciech Sajnok
Alan Banaszek
Daniel Staniszewski
Adrian Teklinski

Men’s Points Race

1. Mark Downey (Ireland)    18 pts
2. Morgan Kneisky (France)    14
3. Sultanmurat Miraliyev (Kazakhstan)    14
4. Vitaliy Hryniv (Ukraine)    13
5. Kenny De Ketele (Belgium)    11
6. Eloy Teruel Rovira (Spain)    10
7. Adam Jamieson (Canada)    9
8. Raman Ramanau (Minsk Cycling Club)    8
9. Wojciech Pszczolarski (Poland)    8
10. Lucas Liss (Germany)    7
11. Samuel Harrison (Team USN)    7
12. Leung Chun Wing (Hong Kong)    7
13. Krisztian Lovassy (Hungary)    5
14. Reto Muller (Switzerland)    5
15. Ryo Chikatani (Japan)    3
16 Chen Chien-Liang (Taichung Cycling Team)    2
17. Alex Buttazzoni (Italy)    1
18. Mark Stewart (Great Britain)    1
19. Ivo Emanuel Oliveira (Portugal)    0
20. Nicolas Pietrula (Czech Republic)    0
21. Stefan Mastaller (Austria)    0
DNF Teck Kwang Calvin Sim (Singapore)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.