Featured Stories

Giro d’Italia Stage 20 Results – Rogers Wins

by pedalmag.com

May 31, 2014 (Monte Zoncolan, Italy) – Michael Rogers (Aus) Tinkoff-Saxo earned another Grand Tour win, soloing in for the victory on the tough Stage 20 from Maniago to Monte Zoncolan, 167km. Taking second was Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli who passed a spent Francesco Manuel Bongiorno (Ita) Bardiani-CSF in third.

Bongiorno was looking strong leading the race with Rogers but with 3km to go he had the misfortune of a fan giving him a push that almost forced him into Rogers’ back wheel. Bongiorno had to brake and thus came off the bike momentarily losing his momentum on the 15% grade mountain. He recovered but Pellizotti passed him in the end to take second.

Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team had a tough day finishing 33rd at 7:02 and is now 8th overall while Canada’s  Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin Sharp suffered as well finishing 38th at 8:09 but holds on to 9th overall.

Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) Movistar Team has all but clinched the Giro title with one stage to go and a commanding 3:07 lead on Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team in second with Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team looking solid in 3rd.

Results (brief)

1. Michael Rogers (Aus) Tinkoff-Saxo 4:41:55
2. Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 0:38
3. Francesco Manuel Bongiorno (Ita) Bardiani-CSF 0:49
4. Nicolas Roche (Irl) Tinkoff-Saxo 1:35
5. Brent Bookwalter (USA) BMC Racing Team 1:37
6. Robinson Eduardo Chalapud Gomez (Col) Colombia 1:46
7. Georg Preidler (Aut) Team Giant-Shimano 1:52
8. Maxime Monfort (Bel) Lotto Belisol 2:12
9. Dario Cataldo (Ita) Team Sky 2:24
10. Simon Geschke (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano 2:37

38. Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin Sharp 8:09

GC after Stage 20

1. Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) Movistar Team 83:50:25
2. Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team 3:07
3. Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana Pro Team 4:04
4. Pierre Rolland (Fra) Team Europcar 5:46
5. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 6:41
6. Rafal Majka (Pol) Tinkoff-Saxo 7:13
7. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling Team11:09
8. Cadel Evans (Aus) BMC Racing Team 12:00
9. Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin Sharp 13:35
10. Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) Trek Factory Racing 15:49

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.