Featured Stories

Giro D’Italia 21 – Final

June 1, 2003 (Milan, Italy) – Former World TT champ, the Ukrainian Serguei Gontchar (Ukr) De Nardi-Colpack has won the final stage of the Giro, a 33k Individual Time Trial finishing in Milan. Gontchar took the win by 19 seconds over Italian  Marzio Bruseghin (Fassa Bortolo) and time trial specialist Aitor Gonzalez Jimenez ( Fassa Bortolo). Tour leader Gilberto Simoni (Saeco) finished 18th, but his pink jersey was never threatened.  The final G.C was Simoni, followed by Stefano Garzelli (Vini Caldirola-SO.DI ) and the up-and-coming star, Yaroslav Popovych (Landbouwkrediet-Colnago).

Stage 21:

1. Serguei Gontchar (Ukr) De Nardi-Colpack                  38.04 (52.014 km/h)
2. Marzio Bruseghin (Ita) Fassa Bortolo                      0.19
3. Aitor Gonzalez Jimenez (Spa) Fassa Bortolo                0.20
4. Dario Frigo (Ita) Fassa Bortolo                           0.26
5. Raimondas Rumsas (Ltu) Lampre                             1.03
6. Sandy Casar (Fra) FDJeux.com                              1.05
7. Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Vini Caldirola-SO.DI               1.16
8. Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Team Saeco                     1.18
9. Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago           1.19
10. Georg Totschnig (Aut) Gerolsteiner

Final Overall:

1. Gilberto Simoni (Ita) Team Saeco                      89.32.09
2. Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Vini Caldirola-SO.DI               7.06
3. Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago           7.11
4. Andrea Noe' (Ita) Alessio                                 9.24
5. Georg Totschnig (Aut) Gerolsteiner                        9.42
6. Raimondas Rumsas (Ltu) Lampre                             9.50
7. Dario Frigo (Ita) Fassa Bortolo                          10.50
8. Serguei Gontchar (Ukr) De Nardi-Colpack                  14.14
9. Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Alessio                          14.26
10. Eddy Mazzoleni (Ita) Vini Caldirola-SO.DI               19.21

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.