Featured Stories

Giro 2005 — Stage 20 — Savoldelli Wins Overall

May 29, 2005 — Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo took the final 119km Stage 20 from Albese con Cassano to Milan, making it four stage wins for the Italian speedster. As expected, Italy’s Paolo Savoldelli (Discovery Channel) crossed the finishline in the maglia rosa and won the 88 Giro d’Italia over fellow Italian Gilberto Simoni (Lampre-Caffita). Coombia’s Jose’ Rujano Guillen (Ven) Selle Italia was third and Italy’s Pro Tour leader, Danilo Di Luca (Liquigas-Bianchi) finished fourth.


1 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 3.24.08 (35.329 km/h)
2 Erik Zabel (Ger) T-Mobile Team
3 Robert Forster (Ger) Gerolsteiner
4 Mirco Lorenzetto (Ita) Domina Vacanze
5 Marco Velo (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
6 Paride Grillo (Ita) Ceramica Panaria-Navigare
7 Isaac Galvez Lopez (Spa) Illes Balears
8 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Francaise Des Jeux
9 Manuele Mori (Ita) Saunier Duval-Prodir
10 Henk Vogels (Aus) Davitamon-Lotto

95 Michael Barry (Can) Discovery Channel-Pro Cycling Team

Final GC

1 Paolo Savoldelli (Ita) Discovery Channel-Pro Cycling Team 91.25.51 (37.855 km/h)
2 Gilberto Simoni (Ita) Lampre-Caffita 0.28
3 Jose’ Rujano Guillen (Ven) Selle Italia-Colombia 0.45
4 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Liquigas-Bianchi 2.42
5 Juan Manuel Garate (Spa) Saunier Duval-Prodir 3.11
6 Serguei Gonchar (Ukr) Domina Vacanze 4.22
7 Vladimir Karpets (Rus) Illes Balears 11.15
8 Pietro Caucchioli (Ita) Credit Agricole 11.38
9 Marzio Bruseghin (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 11.40
10 Emanuele Sella (Ita) Ceramica Panaria-Navigare 12.33

101 Michael Barry (Can) Discovery Channel-Pro Cycling Team 3.11.01

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.