Featured Stories

Giro 2005 — Stage 16

May 25, 2005 – The 16th stage of the Giro, 210km from Lissone to Varazze, served its only role: crown a winner, and get the pack 210km closer to the next batch of mountains. The outcome was determined shortly before the midway point when an 18-man break representing virtually every team and posing absolutely no threat to any leader’s jersey of any colour went up the road. With no one to chase, the break was gone for the day, and all the leaders, including pink jersey Paolo Savoldelli, could settle in for a straightforward day of riding, eating and relaxing.

An attack by Alessandro Vanotti (Domina Vacanze) out of the early break resulted in a six-man break: Vanotti, Addy Engels (Quickstep), Christophe Brandt (Davitamon-Lotto), Frank Schleck (Team CSC), and Christophe Le Mevel (Credit Agricole), eventually joined by Dmitriy Fofonov (Cofidis). Relentless attacks by Vanotti and Brandt led to no real gap, while the 9-rider chase behind the leaders kept the pressure on, holding the gap under a minute for almost 20km. However, with 1km left in the stage an attack by Brandt was countered by Le Mevel, who got clear and took the stage by nine seconds over Brandt.

1. Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Credit Agricole 4.50.51
2. Christophe Brandt (Bel) Davitamon-Lotto 0.09
3. Alessandro Vanotti (Ita) Domina Vacanze 0.16
4. Dmitriy Fofonov (Kaz) Cofidis-Le Credit Par Telephone
5. Frank Schleck (Lux) Team CSC
6. Addy Engels (Ned) Quick.Step
7. Alberto Ongarato (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 0.50
8. Uros Murn (Slo) Phonak Hearing Systems
9. Lilian Jegou (Fra) Francaise Des Jeux
10. Andre’ Korff (Ger) T-Mobile Team

General classification after stage 16:
1. Paolo Savoldelli (Ita) Discovery Channel-Pro Cycling Team
2. Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Liquigas-Bianchi 0.25
3. Gilberto Simoni (Ita) Lampre-Caffita 1.48
4. Juan Manuel Garate (Spa) Saunier Duval-Prodir 2.11
5. Jose’ Rujano Guillen (Ven) Selle Italia-Colombia 2.18
6. Pietro Caucchioli (Ita) Credit Agricole 3.25
7. Serguei Gonchar (Ukr) Domina Vacanze 4.05
8. Emanuele Sella (Ita) Ceramica Panaria-Navigare 5.50
9. Dario David Cioni (Ita) Liquigas-Bianchi 6.40
10. Vladimir Karpets (Rus) Illes Balears 6.44

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.