Featured Stories

Gent-Wevelgem Results Van Avermaet and Lepistö Win – Jackson 27th, Houle 34th

by pedalmag.com
Greg Van Avermaet  ©  Cor Vos
March 26, 2017 (Deinze, Belgium) – Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team claimed the 79th Gent-Wevelgem, 249.2km, for a historic victory over Jens Keukeleire (Bel) Orica-Scott in second and reigning road worlds champ Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe in third. With this victory Belgium’s Van Avermaet has now won a record trifecta of classic early races including Omloop Het Nieuwsblad and E3 Harelbeke.

Hugo Houle  ©  Cor Vos

Canada’s Hugo Houle (AG2R La Mondiale) who was in a break of seven riders that was caught finished 34th on the day. Benjamin Perry and Guillaume Boivin both with the Israel Cycling Academy DNF’d.

Women's podium  ©  Cor Vos
Lotta Lepistö (Fin) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team won the women’s 145km over Jolien D’Hoore (Bel) Wiggle High5 in second with Coryn Rivera (USA) Team Sunweb Women in third. Alison Jackson (Can) Be Pink was the top Canuck in 27th.

Alison Jackson  ©  Cor Vos


1. Lotta Lepistö (Fin) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team    3:53:54
2. Jolien D’Hoore (Bel) Wiggle High5
3. Coryn Rivera (USA) Team Sunweb Women
4. Marta Bastianelli (Ita) Alé Cipollini
5. Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Canyon SRAM Racing
6. Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Ita) Lensworld-Kuota
7. Alice Barnes (Gbr) Drops Cycling Team
8. Chantal Blaak (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
9. Elena Cecchini (Ita) Canyon SRAM Racing
10. Shelya Gutiérrez (Esp) Cylance Pro Cycling

27. Alison Jackson (Can) Be Pink
65. Leah Kirchmann (Can) Team Sunweb Women
102. Joelle Numainville (Can) Cylance Pro Cycling


1. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team 5:39:05
2. Jens Keukeleire (Bel) Orica-Scott
3. Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe o:06
4. Niki Terpstra (Ned) Quick-Step Floors
5. John Degenkolb (Ger) Trek-Segafredo
6. Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick-Step Floors
7. Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto Soudal
8. Michael Matthews (Aus) Team Sunweb
9. Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step Floors
10. Sacha Modolo (Ita) Team UAE Emirates

34. Hugo Houle (Can) AG2R La Mondiale
DNF Benjamin Perry (Can) Israel Cycling Academy
DNF Guillaume Boivin (Can) Israel Cycling Academy

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.