Featured Stories

FBD Insurance Rás — Stages 6, 7 — Jet Fuel Report

May 29, 2005 — Stage 6: Abbeyleix – Rathdrum, 160 km: British Olympic and world championship medalist Chris Newton continued his dominance of this year’s Rás with a devastatingly powerful victory in Stage 6.

Newton is just impressive here day after day, even though today his team seemed to weaken a bit, he was strong. And he looks pretty much unstoppable on the GC here in Ireland. On paper tomorrow is one of the hardest days of the Rás, but like yesterday, you never know. Not that yesterday was ‘easy’ just it didn’t turn into the all out GC slug fest that was expected.

We had a pretty calm day today, maybe we’re getting a bit tired, or maybe we just had a quiet day. We’re all pretty happy with Buck’s ride yesterday. We are hoping he can pull it off again tomorrow.

Stage 7: Rathdrum – Wicklow Town, 138 km
Well the two hardest stages of this Rás have turned out to be Buck’s two best stages. Has our would-be sprinter turned into a climber? Who’d have guessed…

Today’s tough mountain stage featured seven categorized climbs -including the first category ascents of Slieveman, Sally Gap and Luggala. Oooof! Buck made what turned into the front group of 30 on this tough stage and came accross the line in 16th today. This has been an unlucky Rás for us, but also a great one, and we’re hoping to finish it off strongly in Dublin tomorrow (Sunday).

Stage 6 Results

1 Chris Newton (GBr) Recycling.co.uk 4.01.09
2 Morten Hegreberg (Nor) Sparebanken Vest 0.05
3 Nathan Mitchell (USA) TIAA-CREF
4 Eugene Moriarty (Irl) cycleways.com
5 Yanto Barker (GBr) Stena
6 Malcolm Elliott (GBr) Trinity Capital 0.06
7 John Tanner (GBr) Trinity Capital 0.11
8 Tim Barry (Irl) Dan Morrissey
9 Robin Sharman (GBr) Recycling.co.uk
10 Stephen Gallagher (Irl) Grant Thornton
11 Rostislav Krotky (Cze) Elmarco KK 0.13
12 Julian Winn (GBr) Stena
13 Sigvard Kukk (Est) Kalev Chocolate
14 Tino Haakman (Ned) BRC Kennemerland
15 Gary Dodd (GBr) SurreyRacing League 0.16
16 Morten Christiansen (Nor) Sparebanken Vest
17 Andrew Roche (Irl) Worldwide Cycles
18 Jiri Korbel (Cze) Elmarco KK 0.20
19 Roger Aiken (Irl) Safe Cycling
20 Paul Healion (Irl) Usher Insulations

33 Zach Bell (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee
54 Kevin Miller (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee
91 Andrew Randell (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee
148 Mark Pozniak (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee

Stage 7 Results

1 Morten Hegreberg (Nor) Sparebanken Vest 3.29.36
2 Malcolm Elliott (GBr) Trinity Capital
3 Yanto Barker (GBr) Stena
4 John Tanner (GBr) Trinity Capital
5 Eugene Moriarty (Irl) cycleways.com
6 Simon Kelly (Irl) Nucleus
7 Sigvard Kukk (Est) Kalev Chocolate
8 Stephen Gallagher (Irl) Grant Thornton
9 Robin Sharman (GBr) Recycling.co.uk
10 Chris Newton (GBr) Recycling.co.uk
11 Conor Murphy (Irl) Grant Thornton
12 Roger Aiken (Irl) Safe Cycling
13 Evan Oliphant (GBr) Scotland
14 Tim Barry (Irl) Dan Morrissey
15 Andrew Roche (Irl) Worldwide Cycles
16 Kevin Miller (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee
17 Rostislav Krotky (Cze) Elmarco KK
18 Alex Coutts (GBr) Scotland
19 Malte Urban (Ger) Stevens von Hacht
20 Jan Novak (Cze) Elmarco KK

69 Zach Bell (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee
84 Andrew Randell (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee
86 Mark Pozniak (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee

GC after Stage 7

1 Chris Newton (GBr) Recycling.co.uk 25.31.25
2 Malcolm Elliott (GBr) Trinity Capital 0.14
3 Morten Hegreberg (Nor) Sparebanken Vest 2.21
4 Yanto Barker (GBr) Stena 2.42
5 Robin Sharman (GBr) Recycling.co.uk 2.43
6 Tim Barry (Irl) Dan Morrissey
7 Gabriel Rasch (Nor) Sparebanken Vest 2.59
8 John Tanner (GBr) Trinity Capital 5.40
9 Stuart Gillespie (USA) TIAA-CREF
10 Kevin Dawson (GBr) Trinity Capital 6.19

27 Kevin Miller (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee 11.01
81 Mark Pozniak (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee 39.57
86 Andrew Randell (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee 42.41
117 Zach Bell (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee 1.22.13


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.