Featured Stories

eQuinelle Grand Prix Women/Men’s Criterium Full Results UPDATED

by pedalmag.com

May 26, 2013 (Kemptville, ON) – US veteran Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers) topped the field in the Elite Women’s  eQuinelle Grand Prix Criterium, 1-hour + 5 laps, with Joanie Caron (Can) Primal Pro Women p/b BH in second and Catherine Dessureault (Can) Independant in third. The trio created a gap towards the end of race and finished with a 30s-margin over the chasing pack. Lex Albrecht (Can) Now & Novatis placed 4th. The Pro Women’s race features $2,500 in prize money.

Dion Smith (Nzl) Predator Carbon Repair took the win in the men’s 1-hour 30-min + 5 laps race with Simon Lambert Lemay (Can) Garneau-Quebecor in second and Matteo Dal-Cin (Can) Stevens Racing p/b the Cyclery in third. The top eight riders escaped from the field and would not be caught. Smith won the sprint finish as Michael Woods (Can) Garneau-Quebecor crashed in the final corner but recovered in time before the pack arrived to finish 8th. The Pro Men’s race had a prize purse of $5,000 up for grabs.

“It worked out perfectly,” said Smith, the men’s winner. “Jean-Michel lead me out of the final corner and set me up for the finish…it was textbook and I’m really happy we came up here for this great race. Now we’re heading back to New Jersey for the Sommerville race.”

The eQuinelle Grand Prix is part of the Dandelion Festival which takes place in Kemptville, Ontario May 25-26.


Open Masters & Juniors – 42km – Avg. speed 44kph      
1. Derek Gee (Ottawa Bicycle Club) 56:46:00
2. Ron Amos (Ride with Rendall) 0:03
3. Jeremie Lacasse (Ottawa Bicycle Club) 0:25
4. Mike Reeves (Euro-Sports / Foodery)
5. Brent Atkins (West of Quebec Wheelers)
6. Bill Hurley (The Cyclery)
7. Connor Byway (Ottawa Bicycle Club)
8. Hans Loeffelholz (Nine2FivePro.com Cycling Team)
9. James Brooks (The Cyclery)
10. Wil Etherington  (VeloSelect)
11. Marc Hunt (Euro-Sports / Foodery)
12. Ian Dalling (The Cyclery)
13. Jake Cleofas (Nine2FivePro.com Cycling Team)
14. Chris Olson (Nine2FivePro.com Cycling Team)
15. Patrick Pelda (West of Quebec Wheelers)
16. James Mcguire (Independent)
17. Jon Gee (Ride with Rendall)
18. Craig Hawkes (The Cyclery)
19. Peter Tregunno (Tea and Coffee Racing) 0:49
20. Carl Kiiffner (The Cyclery)
21. John Large (West of Quebec Wheelers) both s.t.
DNF Jesse Jarjour (Team IFG by Cyclelogik/Endurosport)
DNF Mike Leach (The Cyclery)
DNF Rick Bourgeault J. (West of Quebec Wheelers)
DNF Stefan Czaban (West of Quebec Wheelers)
DNF Francis Tremblay (Kunstadt Sports Cycling Club)
DNF David Charles (Kunstadt Sports Cycling Club)
DNF Dustin King (Ottawa Bicycle Club)
DNF Robert Bemrose (Ride with Rendall)
DNF Darryl Hansell (Ride with Rendall)

Women Elite – 46km – Avg. speed 40kph
1. Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom) 1:07:34
2. Joanie Caron (PrimalProWomen)
3. Catherine Dessureault (Stevens Racing p/b the Cyclery)
4. Lex Albrecht (NOW and Novartis for MS) 0:50
5. Sarah Rasmussen Anne (Infinit Canada/Cyclepower) @ 1:46
6. Annie Foreman-Mackey (Stevens Racing p/b the Cyclery)
7. Alyssa Mellon (The Cyclery)
8. Chloe Black (Sabino Cycles Racing)
DNF Carrie Cartmill (Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery)
DNF Stephanie Skoreyko (Infinit Canada/Cyclepower)
DNF Allison Lampi (Infinit Canada/Cyclepower)
DNF Heather Shearer (Infinit Canada/Cyclepower)
DNF Marie-Soleil Blais (Infinit Canada/Cyclepower)
DNF Carol Deavy (Les Rouleurs de l’Outaouais)
DNF Chantal Thompson (Madonna Wheelers Cycling Club)
DNF Robyn Angeles (Independent )
DNF Tatjana Zaharova (Aquila/Racer Sportif Mattamy Homes)

Men Elite – 72km – Avg. speed 45 kph
1. Dion Smith (Predator Carbon Repair) 1:36:21
2. Simon Lambert-Lemay (GARNEAU QUEBECOR)
3. Matteo Dal-Cin (Steven’s Racing p/b The Cyclery)
4. Jean Lachance Michel (Predator Carbon Repair)
5. Jean Perron Sebastien (Steven’s Racing p/b The Cyclery)
6. Douglas Van Den Ham (Nine2FivePro.com)
7. Travis Samuel (Jet Fuel Coffee/Norco Bicycles)
8. Michael Woods (GARNEAU QUEBECOR) 0:29
9. Jeff Schiller (Jet Fuel Coffee/Norco Bicycles) 0:38
10. Emile Abraham (Predator Carbon Repair)
11. Ed Veal (RealDeal/Gears p/b Fieldgate)
12. Derrick St John (Steven’s Racing p/b The Cyclery)
13. Stephen Keeping (Steven’s Racing p/b The Cyclery)
14. Colin Busby (RealDeal/Gears p/b Fieldgate)
15. Peter Morse (Octto-Cervelo)
16. Andrew House (coachchris.ca/ted velikonja)
17. Osmond Bakker (Octto-Cervelo)
18. Anton Varabei  (Jet Fuel Coffee/Norco Bicycles)
19. Luc Mahler (The Cyclery)
20. Braydon Bourne (Steven’s Racing p/b The Cyclery)
21. Zachary Hughes  (GARNEAU QUEBECOR)
22. Conor O’Brien (Steven’s Racing p/b The Cyclery)
23. Marc Boudreau (Steven’s Racing p/b The Cyclery) 0:56
24. Bruno Langlois  (GARNEAU QUEBECOR) 0:59
DNF Chris Freeland (Jet Fuel Coffee/Norco Bicycles)
DNF Yuri Hrycaj (Jet Fuel Coffee/Norco Bicycles)
DNF Colm Cassidy (Octto-Cervelo)
DNF Brian Trafford (Octto-Cervelo)
DNF David Byer (Octto-Cervelo)
DNF Kenneth Ng (RealDeal/Gears p/b Fieldgate)
DNF Michael Mandel (RealDeal/Gears p/b Fieldgate )
DNF Warren Macdonald (Nine2FivePro.com)
DNF Marc Lapointe (Nine2FivePro.com)
DNF Ryan Phelps (Nine2FivePro.com)
DNF Shawn Clarke (The Cyclery)
DNF Walid El-Sayed (Team TDI Zuck Bikes)
DNF Ben Andrew (Euro-Sports)
DNF Logan Cornel (Independent)
DNF Yuhji Kuronuma (Independent)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.