Featured Stories

Dyck and Gagné Triumph as Champions are Crowned at 2015 Shimano Cyclocross Nationals + PHOTOS

release by Cycling Canada
2015 Shimano Canadian Cyclocross Nationals p/b Volvo champions  ©  Peter Kraiker
October 24, 2015 (Winnipeg, MB) – The 2015 Shimano Cyclocross Championships presented by Volvo were held Saturday at The Forks in Winnipeg, and Mical Dyck (BC) Naked Factory Racing p/b Broad Street Cycles and Raphael Gagne (QC) Red Truck – Garneau p/b Easton Cycling came out on top, winning the coveted Red and White jerseys.

Gagne wins  ©  Peter Kraiker

After a few days of heavy rain in Winnipeg, the sun came out for the competitors, allowing for slick and muddy conditions. Sections of the course, notably steep run ups and grassy hills, were extremely slippery. The revamped course, more spectator-friendly, challenged the competitors with a complete set of obstacles featuring a triple sand pass, cobblestones, fly-overs, muddy run-ups, staircases, gravel roads and grassy areas.

E M Start  ©  Peter Kraiker
Garrigan  ©  Peter Kraiker
E M Action  ©  Peter Kraiker
In the men’s race, the race was tightly contested from the start to the finish. Multiple riders exchanged the lead throughout the race, with each attempt reeled. In the last two laps, Gagné took control of the race and managed to cross the finish line in first place, earning his career-first Canadian Cyclocross title.

Jette Schooler  ©  Peter Kraiker
Kabush leading  ©  Peter Kraiker
Gagne  ©  Peter Kraiker

Gagné ended his dream season, having won the Pan-American Games, the Canadian Mountain Bike XCO Elite Men’s title, and the 2015 US Cup Overall title. He also enjoyed a breakthrough season on the UCI World Cup tour, consistently posting Canada’s top results.

E M Podium  ©  Peter Kraiker

Geoff Kabush (BC) Scott 3 Rox Racing, a 5-time Canadian Cyclocross Champion, finished second, only seconds behind Gagné. He was among the five lead riders who contended for the title, but couldn’t close the gap that Gagné had created on the last lap. Aaron Schooler (AB) Focus CX Team, who moved to Germany this year, earned the bronze medal.

Mical Dyck  ©  Peter Kraiker

Dyck triumphed in the women’s race in true style, leading the race from the start to the finish. Throughout the 60-minute race, she increased her lead lap after lap ahead of a talented group of cross riders including Sandra Walter (BC) Liv Cycling Canada, Maghalie Rochette (QC) LUNA Pro Team, Leah Kirchmann (MB) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies and cyclocross specialist Natasha Elliott (QC) Red Truck – Garneau p/b Easton Cycling. Ultimately, Dyck was followed at the finish line by Walter in second and Kirchmann in third pace.

Natasha Elliott  ©  Peter Kraiker
Kirchmann  ©  Peter Kraiker
Walter  ©  Peter Kraiker
E W Podium  ©  Peter Kraiker
Dyck placed 12th at the recent UCI World Championships in February, establishing herself as Canada’s top Cyclocross women. Dyck secured today her second title after taking home the red and white jersey in 2012.

Vandale Disera  ©  Peter Kraiker
Disera takes Vandale  ©  Peter Kraiker
U23 Men's podium  ©  Peter Kraiker
Peter Disera (ON) Norco Factory Team won the Men’s U23 race in a finish sprint against, Danick Vandale (MB) Russ Hays/Accent Inns. Disera edged his opponent, a local star, by less than a bike length to win the title in nail-biting fashion. Peter’s brother, Quinton Disera (ON) CSAJCC p/b Norco & LG, also climbed on the top spot of the podium, easily winning the Junior Men race by over 30seconds on the second place.

Quinton Disera  ©  Peter Kraiker
Junior Men's podium  ©  Peter Kraiker

Ruby West (ON) Centurion Next Wave Cycling Team captured the red and white jersey in the Youth women’s race, which was combined with the elite women’s competition. She won over Dana Gilligan (ON) Cycle Solutions Angry Johnny’s CC pb Norco LG and Maggie Coles-Lyster (BC) Local Ride Racing, in second and third respectively.

Ruby West  ©  Peter Kraiker
Youth women's podium  ©  Peter Kraiker

Sunday, the 2015 Manitoba Grand Prix of Cyclocross will be disputed, allowing non-Canadian racers a chance at UCI points.

Full results here
Masters results here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.