Featured Stories

dEVo Spring Series – Report and Results

release by Escape Velocity

April 14, 2009 (Langley, BC) – The 2009 dEVo Spring Series culminated with the Escape Velocity Stage Race this past weekend. Over 125 racers braved inclement weather to battle for the coveted overall omnium in each category. Saturday was a split day, with the very technical Old Yale criterium in the morning, and the flat and fast River Road time trial in the afternoon.


A four rider break from the gun in the C group stuck to the end, with new racer Cole Stewart taking a convincing win over Ted Matson and Jeff Hanninen (Daryl-Evans Racing). The B race was perhaps the most aggressive with U23 riders fighting for spots on Team BC at the Canada Summer Games. In the end it was track riders showing their sprinting skills with young gun Boris Martin (Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes) taking the bunch gallop followed closely by the ‘Flying Squirrel’ Jacob Schwingboth (Garneau Evolution) and Marcel Aarden (H&R Block Kona). The A race was also aggressive with Tyler Trace (Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes)just catching a late solo move by Matt Potma (H&R Block Kona). Murray Solem (Glotman Simpson), young Yukonian Jesse Reams (dEVo) and Will Routley (Jelly Belly) rounded out the top five.

Time Trial

The afternoon time trial saw some blistering times. The Novice group was won by Josef Johnston with six seconds to spare over Amy Kirkham (EV dEVas), and a further twenty seconds over George McLaughlin (Velo Vets). The C race was also a close affair with triathlete James Fry taking the win over time trial specialist Stuart Lynne (Escape Velocity) and Bill Riley (Velo Vets). The B race was once again a hard-fought affair with young powerhouse Mike Rothengatter (H&R Block Kona) narrowly taking a one second win over Nathan MacDonald (Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes). Aarden came in for third place, setting himself up well for the overall win. The A race saw a mind-blowing time of 14:18 set by Rob Britton (Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes) with Will Routley (Jelly Belly) coming in just two seconds off Britton’s mark.

Road Race

The criterium and time trial set the stage for showdowns in each category in Sunday’s road race. The novice group was won by Troy Neale in a sprint over Brian Wanden (Escape Velocity) and Josef Johnston. The C Group saw James Fry taking a convincing win on the stage and the overall with Chelsea Bilsbarrow (Local Ride Racing) in second and Gillian Carleton (Total Restoration) in third. The B group came down to an excrutiating two-up sprint, with Nathan MacDonald taking the win over rising star Ben Cowburn (dEVo). Richard Machhein took the bunch sprint for third. The A race was a Trek Red Truck affair. Overall contender Will Routley (Jelly Belly) had an untimely flat ending his race prematurely, and Britton took the race under control with a convincing win on the stage and overall. Jamie Sparling (Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes) took second, and Curtis Dearden (Westwood Cycle/Cannondale) put in a gutsy ride for third.

Complete results can be seen at www.escapevelocity.bc.ca.

The 2009 Spring Series has been a fantastic success, with funds raised going towards the dEVo Youth Cycling Development Program. Such racing could not be possible without the volunteers who put in countless hours directing traffic in the cold and wet Vancouver spring weather. Also a big thank you to our generous sponsors Louis Garneau, Powerbar, Wenting’s Cycle and Ski Shop, La Bicicletta Pro Shop Vancouvr, Back2Health Chiropractic, and Peak Performance Centre.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.