Featured Stories

Derek Gee Claims 4th Title as 2017 Track Nationals Wrap up in Milton + PHOTOS

release by Cycling Canada

October 01, 2017 (Milton, ON) – The 2017 Canadian Track Championships p/b Lexus concluded on Saturday with six Elite titles awarded at the Mattamy National Cycling Centre in Milton, Ontario.

Derek Gee  ©  Ivan Rupes
Competition began with the 4000 metre Individual Pursuit for women and men. Kinley Gibson (The Cyclery-4iiii) took the women’s title with a time of 3:39.749, finishing over five seconds ahead of Laurie Jussaume (Équipe du Québec) in the gold medal final. Annie Foreman-Mackey (Sho-Air Twenty20 defeated Marie Soleil Blais (Équipe du Québec) for the bronze medal. In the men’s competition, Derek Gee (Team Race Clean) took his third gold medal with a time of 4:27.154, beating Ryan Roth (Silber Pro Cycling) by 2.543 seconds. In the bronze medal race, Adam Roberge (Équipe du Québec) defeated Evan Burtnik (Team Race Clean).

Tegan Cochrane  ©  Ivan Rupes
The Keirin saw the continued domination of two riders in the speed events. Tegan Cochrane (Cycling BC) won her third title in the women’s race, beating Lauriane Genest (Équipe du Québec) and Jenna Nestman (Alete). Rio Olympian Hugo Barrette (Équipe du Québec) did the same in the men’s race, defeating team mates Joel Archambault and Patrice St Louis Pivin. The men’s race was reduced to these three riders after a crash took down the rest of the field.

Barrette  ©  Ivan Rupes
The Championships concluded with the Madison, which is gaining renewed interest after it was recently returned to the Olympic program for 2020 in Tokyo. Team Race Clean took both the women’s and men’s titles, with Allison Beveridge and Jasmin Duehring combining to dominate the women’s race. It was Beveridge’s third track title, to go along with the national road title she won in June. Sho-Air Twenty20 (Annie Foreman-Mackey/Laura Brown) took the silver medal and The Cyclery-4iiii (Kinley Gibson/Laurie Jussaume) the bronze.

Beveridge and Duehring win the Women’s Madison  ©  Ivan Rupes
Burtnik and Gee win the Men’s Madison  ©  Ivan Rupes
The men’s race saw Derek Gee win an incredible fourth national title with Team Race Clean partner Evan Burtnik, in a close fought race that saw the lead change multiple times among the top three teams. RealDeal Racing (Ed Veal/Emile De Rosnay) won the silver and Équipe du Québec (Thierry Kirouac Marcassa/Gabriel Drapeau Zgoralski) the bronze.


Results here.


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.