Featured Stories

David Lappartient is New UCI President – Defeats Brian Cookson in Landslide Victory UPDATED

by John Symon

David LappartientSeptember 21, 2017 (Bergen, Norway) – In a surprise landslide victory, France’s David Lappartient defeated Brian Cookson as delegates voted him in as the new UCI president 37-8 at the elections held today in Bergen, Norway. Lappartient, who served as vice-president of the UCI under Cookson for the past four years, claimed that Cookson had been weak and ineffective as president, noting in particular the issue of mechanical doping. Lappartient also claimed Cookson lacked both ambition and vision.The 45 delegates were composed of 15 from Europe, 9 from Asia, 9 from Africa, 9 from the Americas and 3 from Oceania. Lappartient promised to be at the UCI headquarters in Aigle, Switzerland on Tuesday to personally thank all of those who supported him, adding that he knows who they are – UCI release below.

UCI Official Release
David Lappartient Elected UCI President

Frenchman David Lappartient has today been elected President of the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) after securing 37 votes to 8 against incumbent Brian Cookson. The vote took place at the UCI Congress in Bergen, Norway, and comprised the 45 voting delegates democratically elected within each Continental Confederation responsible for electing the UCI President and Management Committee (see note to editors).

Speaking about his election as UCI President, David Lappartient declared: “I am extremely grateful for the support the UCI National Federations have shown for me today. Thank you all, from the bottom of my heart, for the great responsibility you are now giving me. I am delighted that the votes in my favour have come from all corners of the globe. I would like to congratulate Brian Cookson for his work over the past four years. I know how passionate he is about our sport and I acknowledge his disappointment. Lastly, I want to thank all of those who have helped me over the past few months. I cannot wait to start working for the good of cycling, and I wish everyone a successful remainder of these 2017 UCI Road World Championships in Bergen, Norway.”

The UCI Congress also elected the following UCI Management Committee for the next four years:
• Dr Mohamed Wagih AZZAM (EGY) as President of the CAC
• Ms Tracey GAUDRY (AUS) as President of the OCC
• Mr Osama Ahmed Abdullah AL SHAFAR (UAE) as President of the ACC
• Mr José Manuel PELAEZ (CUB) as President of the COPACI
• Mr Amarjit Singh Gill DARSHAN SINGH (MAS) representing the ACC
• Mr Mohammed BEN EL MAHI (MAR) representing the CAC
• Mr Bob STAPLETON (USA) representing the COPACI
• Mr Tony MITCHELL (NZL) representing the OCC
• Mr Artur LOPES (POR) representing the UEC
• Mr Renato DI ROCCO (ITA) representing the UEC
• Mr Igor MAKAROV (RUS) representing the UEC
• Mr José Luis LOPEZ CERRON (ESP) representing the UEC
• Mr Toni KIRSH (GER) representing the UEC
• Mr Tom VAN DAMME (BEL) representing the UEC
• Mr Harald Tiedemann HANSEN (NOR) representing the UEC.

Finally, the UCI Congress voted in favour of granting Anguilla, Curaçao, Saint Martin and Guinea-Bissau official membership of the UCI, taking its total membership to 190 National Federations.
Notes to Editors

The voting rights of the National Federations are exercised through voting delegates, elected democratically within each Continental Confederation. In total, there are 45 voting delegates, spread over the Continental Confederations as follows: Africa: 9 delegates America: 9 delegates Asia: 9 delegates Europe: 15 delegates

The Telegraph here.
Le Matin (French) here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.