Featured Stories

Cycling Canada Olympic Celebration & Fundraising Gala Honours Athletes, Coaches and CEO Greg Mathieu

by pedalmag.com
Rio Team Canada  ©  pedalmag.com
October 29, 2016 (Ottawa, ON) – A fabulous gathering was on hand to share a glass and celebrate Cycling Canada’s Olympic Celebration and Fundraising Gala at the Lord Elgin Hotel in downtown Ottawa on Friday evening. The who’s who of cycling from across the country mingled as athletes, coaches and staff were honoured along with a special presentation for CEO, Greg Mathieu who is retiring this year.

Rio Paralympic Team  ©  pedalmag.com
Greg Mathiew and Cycling Canada staff  ©  pedalmag.com
Renowned commentator, Randy Fergueson, MC’d the evening that began with video clips from Rio and included presentations of Team Canada’s Olympic and Paralympic squads including other awards that recognized the accomplishments of riders, coaches and builders throughout the season.

Randy Fergueson  ©  pedalmag.com

Olympic bronze medalists Catharine Pendrel and the Women’s Team Pursuit including Jasmine Glaesser, Kirsti Lay, Alison Beveridge, Georgia Simmerling and Laura Brown were among the attendees.

Dan Proulx, Catharine Pendrel and John Tolkamp  ©  pedalmag.com
Laura Brown, Jasmine Glaesser, Kirsti Lay  ©  pedalmag.com

Paralympic triple medalist Tristen Chernove was also in the crowd along with medalists Ross Wilson, Charles Moreau, Shelley Gautier and Michael Sametz brought home a record 9 medals as cycling was the top sport at the Rio Paralympic Games.

Tristen Chernove and John Tolkamp  ©  pedalmag.com
Charlse Moreau  ©  pedalmag.com
Shelley Gautier  ©  pedalmag.com
Over $10,000 was raised via a silent auction that featured superb paintings by artist Luigia Zilli including autographed jerseys and other items that were donated. The National Capital Region Cycling Bursary program that has seen excellent growth announced several winners as well including Timothy Austen, Derek Gee and Ariane Bonhomme, in addition to the Ellen Watters who received $1,000 earlier this year.

John Tolkamp honouring Greg Mathieu  ©  pedalmag.com

Mathieu’s legacy includes the Mattamy National Cycling Centre in Milton, BMX Track in Centennial Park and upgrades to Hardwood Ski and Bike; the Cycling Canada Hall of Fame; the Hop On Campaign; hiring 10 more coaches; multiple medals from the Olympics, World Championships and Pan Am Games; and building solid relationships with the provincial sport organizations across the country.

“Fantastic evening recognizing @CyclingCanada @Rio2016_en Olympic/Paralympic team & CEO Greg Mathieu’s upcoming retirement. #HopOnCanada,” tweeted John Tolkamp, President of Cycling Canada – lots of photos below

Cycling Canada 2016 Awards

Event/Organizer of the Year:
Road – Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal & Québec Événements QPCQM
Mountain Bike – Mont-Ste-Anne UCI World Cup
BMX – Canadian Championships & Canada Cup 7 / Calgary BMX
Paracycling – Canadian Road Championships (Elite/Para/Jr) Bike Race Ottawa
Cyclocross –  Canadian Championships & Manitoba Grand Prix, Manitoba Cycling
Track –  Canadian Road Championships (Elite/Para/Jr)  Cycling Canada
National Commissaire of the Year 2016 –   Claire Bonin
International Commissaire of the Year 2016 – Scott Doel

Recognition Award for Road Coach of the Year
–  Pascal Choquette

Recognition Award for MTB Coach of the Year
–  Jude Dufour

Recognition Award for BMX Coach of the Year
–  Brendan Arnold

Recognition Award for Paracycling Coach of the Year
–  Guillaume Plourde

Recognition Award for Track Coach of the Year
–  Barry Lyster

Russ Copeland Award –   STEFAN RITTER
–    Junior World Champion in the 1 km Time trial
–    Bronze medalist at the track Junior World Championships in the sprint competition
–    4th place at the Jr Track World Championships in the Keirin
–    Junior World record holder in the 1 km time trial
–    Junior World record holder in the flying 200m

President’s Trophy –  Women’s Team Pursuit – Laura Brown, Kirsti Lay, Jasmin Glaesser, Georgia Simmerling, Allison Beveridge, Annie-Forman Mackie
–    Bronze Medalist at the 2016 Rio Olympics in the women’s team pursuit
–    2nd in the UCI ranking for Women’s Team Pursuit
–    Women’s Team Pursuit overall World Cup Winners

Torchy Peden Award –    TBD

Builder of the Year –  TBD
–    Contribution to the Canadian Cycling Association as a builder;
–    Contribution to the Canadian Cycling Association as a coach, instructor, official or event organizer

Service Pins
20 years: Eric Van Den Eynde / QC
10 years: Andy Holmwood / AB
5 years: Hannah Parish / BOD

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.