Featured Stories

Cycling Canada Nominates 5 Cyclists For The CIBC Team Next Program

release by Cycling Canada

August 15, 2013 – Cycling Canada is putting forward five names for the CIBC Team Next program. These athletes were chosen from among more than 50 who submitted applications by the Aug. 1 deadline.  Cycling Canada’s High Performance Committee reviewed all the applications and nominated one athlete per cycling discipline to put forward:

– Para-cycling: Louis-Albert Corriveua-Jolin
– Road: Gabrielle Pilote-Fortin
– Track: Candice Vermeulen
– MTB: Derek Zandstra
– BMX: Corey Walsh

These athletes will have until Sept. 6 to complete an online nomination process and vie to be among the 67 athletes who will receive support. Later in the fall, AthletesCAN and CIBC will announce the final list of athletes who will be receiving support.

CIBC is investing $2 million into helping these young athletes realize their dreams of representing Canada on the world stage. The 67 selected athletes will each receive a $5,000 annual grant for the next 3 years ($15,000 total) in addition to receiving mentorship from top prominent athletes, workshop and advice on personal finance and community support.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.