Featured Stories

Cycling Canada Hall of Fame 2017 Induction – Plaque Unveiling

by pedalmag.com

September 30, 2017 (Ottawa, ON) – The plaque unveiling for the 3rd annual Canadian Cycling Hall of Fame induction ceremonies was held at the Mattamy National Cycling Centre on Saturday during the break in the action at the 2017 Canadian Track Championships. The unveiling honoured the 2017 class of Hall of Fame inductees, which include Gary Longhi, Karen Strong and Steve Smith and the builder is Albert Schelstraete-Coulier.

Plaque unveiling  ©  Ivan Rupes
The Cycling Canada Hall of Fame induction ceremonies will be held on Sunday, October 1st at RattleSnake Point Golf Club in Milton, Ont. following the Lexus “Ride with Legends” which presents a unique opportunity to join Hall of Fame members and Canadian National Team athletes for a fully-supported road ride through the beautiful Halton Hills region.

Inductees – Gary Longhi, Albert Schelstraete-Coulier, Steve Smith, Karen Strong  ©  Ivan Rupes
Established in 2015, the Canadian Cycling Hall of Fame recognizes outstanding achievement and contribution to cycling racing in or for Canada. There are currently two categories of membership in the Canadian Cycling Hall of Fame: Athletes and Builders. At present, sixteen members have been inducted to the Hall of Fame; fourteen athletes and two builders that were selected in 2015 and 2016. Read more about the current inductees here.

Inductees – Karen Strong

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.