Featured Stories

Cycling Canada Announces World-Class Team for Para-Cycling World Cup in Belgium

by pedalmag.com

May 19, 2016 (Ostend, Belgium) –  Cycling Canada is pleased to announce that 19 riders will be representing Canada at the second round of the Para-Cycling World Cup in Ostend, Belgium, on May 20-22.  Ostend is the last major competition for the para-cycling squad before the Paralympic Games, and the final selection event for the team.

The team will be led by 2012 Paralympic champion Robbi Weldon of Ottawa, ON, plus Shelley Gautier of Toronto, ON, and Tristen Chernove of Cranbrook, BC, both multi-time world champions.  The team includes riders from the tandem, tricycle, handcycle and bicycle divisions.

While most of the athletes will participate in both the time trial and road race events for their categories, the objective of the project is to achieve podium results in the time trials, as well as assess the competitiveness of the Canadian athletes in the international field as they begin final preparations for the Paralympic Games.

Para-Cycling World Cup #2, Ostend, Belgium – May 20-22
– Shelley Gautier (Toronto, ON) Time Trial/Road Race, WT1
– Marie-Eve Croteau (Quebec, QC) Time Trial/Road Race, WT2
– Marie-Claude Molnar (Montreal, QC) Time Trial/Road Race, WC4
– Nicole Clermont (St Denis de Brompton, QC) Time Trial/Road Race, WC5
– Robbi Weldon (Ottawa, ON) Time Trial/Road Race, WB
– Audrey Lemieux (Montreal, QC) Time Trial/Road Race, WB
– Shawna Ryan (Saskatoon, SK) Time Trial/Road Race, WB
– Joanie Caron (Rimouski, QC) Time Trial/Road Race, WB
– Mike Sametz (Calgary, AB) Time Trial/Road Race, MC3
– Tristen Chernove (Cranbrook, BC) Time Trial/Road Race, MC2
– Louis-Albert Jolin-Corriveau (St-Claire, QC) Time Trial/Road Race, MT2
– Rico Morneau (St-Liguori, QC) Time Trial/Road Race, MH3
– Daniel Chalifour (Mont-Laurier, QC) Time Trial/Road Race, MB
– Jean-Michel Lachance (Quebec, QC) Time Trial/Road Race, MB
– Alexandre Carrier (Bromont, QC) Road Race, MB
– Aroussen Laflamme (St Augustin des Maures, QC) Road Race, MB
– Charles Moreau (Victoriaville, QC) Time Trial/Road Race, MH3
– Ross Wilson (Sherwood Park, AB) Time Trial, MC1
– Alex Hyndman (Morpeth, ON) Time Trial/Road Race, MH3

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.