Featured Stories

Cycling Canada 2015 Congress and Awards + Interviews

by pedalmag.com
Cycling Canada Board of Directors (l-r) Kevin Baldwin, John Tolkamp (President), Robin Porter, Chris Reid, Hannah Parish, Peter Lawless, Bill Kinash, Greg Mathieu (CEO)  ©  pedalmag.com
October 31, 2015 (St. John’s, Newfoundland) – The 2015 Cycling Canada Congress is being held this weekend in St. John’s, Newfoundland as a season wrap up conference including the presentation of annual awards as the association looks ahead to Rio 2016 while also planning the development channel for future athletes and the next quadrennial leading to Tokyo in 2020.

Along with the association’s Board of Director and Provincial/Territorial Cycling Association meetings were Workshops on Growing Women’s Participation, Podium Pathway Profile, Domestic Development Initiatives including presentations and discussions on Canada Games, Anti-Doping, Athlete Agreements and BMX Freestyle Park Integration.

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) which usually follows these meetings was held via conference call on September 29 due to the requirements of the new Not for Profit Act. The AGM included the approval of the 2014-15 Audited Financial Statements and the appointment of the auditor for 2015-16, along with elections for positions on the Board of Directors and the Program Committees – read the report here.

The following awards were also presented at the President’s Reception held on Friday evening welcoming delegates to the annual gathering.

Louis Barbeau, Quebec Cycling Federation, took home many awards  ©  pedalmag.com

Event/Organizer of the Year

Road – Grand Prix Cycliste de Montreal & Quebec  – GPCQM
Mountain Bike – Mont-Ste-Anne UCI MTB World Cup / UCI Champoninnats Du Monde  – Mont-Ste-Anne / Gestev
BMX – Canadian Championships & Canada Cup #5 / Championnats canadiens & Coupe Canada #5 – Drummondville, QC
Paracycling– Global Relay Canadian Road Championships/Championnats canadiens sur route Global Relay – St-Georges, QC
Cyclocross –  Winnipeg Cyclocross Canadian Championships & Manitoba grand Prix of Cyclocross – Manitoba Cycling Association
Track – Milton International challenge / Cycling Canada

Twila Pitcher, Manitoba Cycling Assoc., won the CX event of the year award  ©  pedalmag.com

National Commissaire of the Year 2014 –   Johanne Binet
International Commissaire of the Year 2014 – Wayne Pomario
Russ Copeland Award – Gillian Ellsay (Road)
– 8th place in the junior women’s individual time trial at the 2015 Road World championships
President’s Trophy – Monique Sullivan (Track)
– 4th place at 2015 UCI Track World Championships
– Triple 2015 Pan Am Games gold Medallist (Sprint, Team Sprint and Keirin)
– Double gold medallist at the 2015 Pan American Championships (Sprint and Keirin)

Builder of the Year – Eric van den Eynde
– Contribution to the Canadian Cycling Association as a builder;
– Contribution to the Canadian Cycling Association as a coach, instructor, official or event organizer

Lapensee recognized for her 15 years with Cycling Canada  ©  pedalmag.com

Coaching Recognition Award
CC Coaching development Committee wants to recognize the contributions of the outstanding coaches who dedicate their time and effort to ensuring that athletes are well supported in their preparation and in competition.

Mountain Bike – Ian Hughes
Para – Philippe Abbott
Road/Route – Pierre Hutsebaut
Track/Piste – Yannick Morin

Service Pins

5 years:
Jason Howard / BC
Twila Cruickshank / MB
Andrea Wooles / BC

15 years:
Gleness Lapensee / Cycling Canada

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.