Featured Stories

Chico Stage Race Results – Canada’s Gilgen 3rd on Stage 2

by John Symon

February 28, 2016 (Chico, CA) – Canada’s Jamie Gilgen (Visit Dallas DNA) landed on the podium in third on Stage 2, the Holiday Inn Road Race, 145km, on Saturday, a mere 0.03 behind winner Hanna Muegge (USA) La Sweat. “What a day. 145km with gravel and a billion attacks. TT and crit tomorrow,” tweeted Gilgen after her third place finish – she finished fourth on Friday’s Stage 1.

W Stage 2 podium  ©  @ChicoStageRace

Fellow Canuck Gillian Ellsay (Trek Red Truck Racing) was 14th, Alison Jackson (Twenty16), Friday’s winner, was 20th; Marie-Soleil Blais (La Sweat) came in 30th; and Shoshauna Routley (Hagens Berman | Supermint) was 46th.

On the men’s side, Christopher Prendergast (H&R Block) was the top Canuck in 18th in a road race won by Tyler Williams (USA) Axeon Hagens Berman. Prendergast was followed closely by William Routley (Rally Cycling) in 19th; farther back were Justin Mauch (Herbalife) in 41st, Pierrick Naud (Rally Cycling) in 48th; Kyle Buckosky (Trek Red Truck) in 52nd; and Nigel Ellsay (Silber Pro) in 61st. Willem Boersma (Race Clean) and Francis Barriault (Andre Cycle ) both DNF’d.



1. Hanna Muegge (USA) La Sweat 3:57:21
2. Scotti Lechuga (USA) Hagens Berman | Supermint
3. Jamie Gilgen (Can) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling 0:03
4. Heather Fischer (USA) Rally Cycling
5. Sofia Arreola Navarro (Mex) Team Twenty16 Ridebiker
6. Lauren De Crescenzo (USA) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling
7. Allie Dragoo (USA) Team Twenty16 Ridebiker
8. Alison Tetrick (USA) Cylance Pro Cylancd
9. Larissa Connors (USA) Team Twenty16 Ridebiker
10. Jennifer Luebke (USA) Portland Bicycle Studio all s.t.

14. Gillian Ellsay (Can) Trek Red Truck Racing p/b Mosaic Homes 0:07
20. Alison Jackson (Can) Team Twenty16 Ridebiker 0:25
30. Marie-Soleil Blais (Can) La Sweat 7:04
46. Shoshauna Routley (Can) Hagens Berman | Supermint 17:51


1. Tyler Williams (USA) Axeon Hagens Berman 3:24:18
2. Lucas Sebastian Haedo (Arg) Jamis – Sutter Home
3. Stephen Bassett (USA) Jamis – Sutter Home
4. Brad Huff (USA) Rally Cycling
5. Jesse Anthony (USA) Rally Cycling
6. Evan Huffman (USA) Rally Cycling
7. Michael Hernandez (USA) CCB Racing
8. Colin Daw (USA) Team Mike’s Bikes p/b Equator Coffees
9. Cortlan Brown (USA) Canyon Bicycles – Shimano
10. Ulises Alfredo (USA) KHS-Maxxis-JLVelo

18. Christopher Prendergast (Can) H&R Block Pro Cycling
19. William Routley (Can) Rally Cycling
41. Justin Mauch (Can) Herbalife p/b Marc Pro – Nature’s Bakery Elite Cycling Team
48. Pierrick Naud (Can) Rally Cycling 1:01
52. Kyle Buckosky (Can) Trek Red Truck p/b Mosaic Homes 4:50
61. Nigel Ellsay (Can) Silber Pro Cycling 7:24
DNF Willem Boersma (Can) Race Clean
DNF Francis Barriault (Can) Andre cycle Kaycan RDS

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.