Featured Stories

CCA Restructures Athletes’ Council

release by the CCA

September 09, 2011 (Ottawa, ON) – The CCA is pleased to announce that the Athletes’ Council has been revised to more closely reflect the high performance program thrust of the association. Under the new Council terms of reference, each of the Olympic cycling sports and para-cycling have two members, one female and one male, elected by the athletes in those sports. To date four of the five cycling sports have made their selections with BMX yet to choose their representatives.

The current composition of the Athletes’ Council is as follows:
– Para-cycling: Marie-Claude Molnar & Mathieu Parent
– Track: Monique Sullivan & Travis Smith
– Mountain Bike: Amanda Sin & Geoff Kabush
– Road: Erinne Willock & Christian Meier
– BMX: to be determined

The role of the Council is to represent and promote athletes’ views and interests to the Canadian Cycling Association (CCA) on all issues which directly or indirectly affect national team athletes, high performance athletes and/or any national caliber athlete.

Recently the Council determined that the Chair will be Erinne Willock and the Vice Chair is Marie-Claude Molnar. By virtue of these positions Erinne will sit on the CCA Board of Directors effective immediately and Marie-Claude will take over the Athlete Representative role on the High Performance Committee commencing at the conclusion of the 2011 Annual General Meeting. Andrew Pinfold currently holds the position on the HP Committee.

The Council has met twice to date via conference call and has been of great assistance in advising on selection criteria and athlete sponsorship guidelines to name a couple of areas of focus.

The CCA welcomes each of these athletes to their role on the Athletes’ Council and appreciates the time and expertise they are providing to the association.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.