Featured Stories

CCA Announces Final Elite Men’s Selection Pool for 2011 UCI Road Worlds

release by the CCA

August 26, 2011 (Ottawa, ON) – The Canadian Cycling Association is pleased to announce the 12 cyclists named to the Selection Pool in the Men’s Elite category for both the Road race and the Time Trials race at the 2011 UCI Road World Championships held September 19-25 in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Of the pool, six are racing for Team SpiderTech powered by C10, Canada’s only UCI Pro-Continental team, which includes Svein Tuft, the Canadian Champion in both the road race and time trials. Two riders race for UCI World Tour teams: Michael Barry with Team Sky Pro Cycling and Ryder Hesjedal with Team Garmin-Cervélo.

Also from pro-continental teams are Dominique Rollin of Française-Des-Jeux, Christian Meier of UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling team and David Veilleux of Team Europcar.

For the time trials race, the pool is comprised of Tuft, Veilleux, Meier and Hesjedal.

The Selection pool for the junior, U23 and women were announced earlier this summer HERE. The final selection will be made in September, closer to the event.

Elite Men
– Michael Barry (Toronto, ON) Pro Team Sky
– Zachary Bell (North Vancouver, BC) Team SpiderTech powered by C10
– Rob Britton (Victoria, BC) Bissell Pro Cycling
– Martin Gilbert (Chateauguay, QC) Team SpiderTech powered by C10
– Ryder Hesjedal* (Victoria, BC) Team Garmin-Cervélo
– Keven Lacombe (Amos, QC) Team SpiderTech powered by C10
– Bruno Langlois (Québec, QC) Team SpiderTech powered by C10
– Christian Meier* (Sussex, NB) UnitedHealthcare Cycling Team
– Dominique Rollin (Boucherville, QC) Française-Des-Jeux
– Will Routley (Whistler, BC) Team SpiderTech powered by C10
– Svein Tuft* (Langley, BC) Team SpiderTech powered by C10
– David Veilleux* (Cap Rouge, QC) Team Europcar

* Riders are also in the pool for the Time Trials

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.