Featured Stories

Canadian World Cup Team Announced

October 14, 2005 — Twenty-six athletes attended the Canadian Cycling Association’s National Team track trials at the Burnaby Velodrome in Burnaby, British Columbia, from October 11-13.

National team track coach Eric van den Eynde and assistant coach Vincent Jourdain declared themselves satisfied with the results of the trials, with notable performances coming from Zach Bell, who met the men’s endurance “˜A’ standards, and the men’s team sprint squad, composed of Travis Smith, Cam MacKinnon and Yannick Morin, which set a new track record in that event.

The Canadian team for the track World Cup season has now been finalized, and comprises the following athletes:
“¢ Sprint women: Lori-Ann Muenzer (will not compete in Moscow)
“¢ Sprint men: Travis Smith, Cam MacKinnon, Yannick Morin
“¢ Endurance women: Mandy Poitras, Gina Grain
“¢ Endurance men: Martin Gilbert, Zach Bell

Canada’s Commonwealth Games and Track World Championships teams will be selected from among these athletes.

A number of athletes met the “˜B’ and “˜C’ standards in Burnaby, which qualifies them for Canadian Cycling Association track development programs in 2006. These programs, as well as additional qualification opportunities, will be announced in December.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.