Featured Stories

Canadian Team For World Cyclocross Championships

January 12, 2005 -The Canadian Cycling Association is happy to announce the team for the upcoming world cyclocross championships, which will be held in St-Wendel, Germany, on Jan. 29 and 30.

Six athletes will represent Canada in the junior men’s , elite men’s and elite women’s categories, and the delegation includes all three womenís medalists, the junior men’s gold medalist and the elite men’s bronze medalist from the national championships held in Dieppe, New Brunswick, on Nov. 6, 2004.

-Joel Dion-Poitras – Junior Men
-Samantha Nicholson – Elite Women
-Tara Ross – Elite Women
-Wendy Simms – Elite Women
-Peter Morse – Elite Men
-Greg Reain – Elite Men

In addition, six people have generously paid their own way to Germany to help support the team. Of particular note is the Giant-Maxxis American team mechanic, Jake Frame, who will be working for the Canadian team in St. Wendel.

The delegation will be led by national development coach Kris Westwood, who participated in five cyclocross world championships as an athlete.

Best of luck to our athletes!

-Keith Bayly – Coach
-Corey Piket – Coach
-Norm Thibault – Coach
-Jake Frame – Mechanic
-David Coughlin – Mechanic
-Carolyne Haill – Mechanic
-Kris Westwood – Team Manager

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.