Featured Stories

Canadian Team for 2006 Cyclocross Worlds

January 27, 2006 — Five Canadian athletes will be on the start line this weekend at the Cyclocross World Championships in Zeddam, the Netherlands this weekend.

Representing Canada in the junior event on Saturday is junior national champion Mike Bidniak of Alberta. Also racing on Saturday in the U23 category is Ryan Hopping, also of Alberta.

Sunday morning the women take to the course, and Canada is well-represented with all three national championship medalists: Lyne Bessette of Quebec (Canadian champion, two podium finishes in cyclocross world cups this season), Wendy Simms of BC (nationals silver, winner of the Golden Gate Cross event in San Francisco, 12th at the 2005 worlds) and Stacey Spencer from BC (nationals bronze).

In the elite men’s event on Sunday afternoon nationals silver medalist Greg Reain of Ontario will be Canada’s sole representative.

Team manager is Norm Thibault, and mechanical support is being provided by Pim Velthuizen, Stu Thorne and Jules Loodtz. Thank you to our volunteer staff, and good luck to the athletes.


27 janvier 2007 — Le Canada sera représenté par cinq athlètes canadiens cette fin de semaine aux championnats du monde de cyclocross à Zeddam aux Pays-Bas.

Sur la ligne de départ de la course junior samedi matin se trouvera le champion canadien Mike Bidniak d’Alberta. Plus tard dans la même journée Ryan Hopping, également d’Alberta, prendra part à la course U23.

Les canadiennes seront bien en évidence dimanche matin lors de la course élite femmes : toutes les médaillées du championnat canadien seront sur la ligne de départ. La championne canadienne Lyne Bessette du Québec (déjà deux fois sur le podium en coupe du monde cette saison) ; la médaillée d’argent Wendy Simms de C-B (vainqueur du Golden Gate Cross à San Francisco) et la médaillée de bronze Stacey Spencer de C-B.

A la course élite hommes dimanche après-midi, Greg Reain d’Ontario (argent au championnat canadien) sera le seul canadien en ligne.

Le manager de l’équipe est Norm Thibault. L’équipe de soutien comprend Pim Velthuizen, Stu Thorne et Jules Loodtz. Merci à notre staff bénévole, et bonne chance à nos athlètes.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.