Featured Stories

Canadian Team Announced for 2011 Road World Championships

release by the CCA

September 14, 2011 (Ottawa, ON) -The Canadian Cycling Association (CCA) is pleased to unveil the list of cyclists selected to represent Canada at the upcoming 2011 UCI Road World Championships to be held from September 19-25 in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Head coach Vincent Jourdain is pleased with the selection: “I am confident that we will have a competitive team competing for Canada in Denmark. With less than one year prior to the Olympic Games, we will have some chances to make some final evaluations and adjustments. The programs in place at the Canadian Cycling Association have never been this healthy, and this is very encouraging. The entire team is now ready to surpass the challenges ahead.”

In 2010, Guillaume Boivin won the bronze medal for Canada in the U23 road race. In 2008, Svein Tuft won the silver medal in the Elite Time Trials.

For more information of the 2011 UCI Road World Championships, please click HERE.

2011 Canadian Road Worlds Team

Elite Women    
– Clara Hughes (Glen Sutton QC / Independant) Time Trials & Road Race [2011 Canadian Champion Time Trials]
– Leah Kirchmann (Winnipeg MB / Colativa-Forno D’Asolo) Road Race [2011 Canadian Champion Criterium]
– Joelle Numainville (Montréal QC / Team Tibco-To-The-Top) Road Race
– Denise Ramsden (Yellowknife NWT / Team Juvéderm-Specialized) Road Race
– Rhae-Christie Shaw (Seattle WA / Independant) Time Trials & Road Race
– Tara Whitten (Edmonton AB / Team Tibco-To-The-Top) Time Trial s& Road Race
– Erinne Willock (Victoria BC / Team Tibco-To-The-Top) Road Race

Elite Men  
– Dominique Rollin (Boucherville QC / Française-Des-Jeux) Road Race
– Svein Tuft (Langley BC / Team SpiderTech) Time Trial & Road Race [2011 Canadian Champion Road Race/Time Trials]
– David Veilleux (Cap Rouge QC / Team EuropCar) Road Race [2011 Canadian Champion Criterium]
– Michael Barry (Toronto ON / Team Sky) [Alternate]

– Guillaume Boivin (Longueuil QC/Team SpiderTech) Road Race
– Hugo Houle (Ste Perpétue QC/Team SpiderTech) Time Trials
– Stuart Wight (Riverview NB/C4RC-Roanne) Time Trials

 Junior Women
– Allison Beveridge (Calgary AB) [2011 Canadian Juniors Champion Criterium]
– Alizée Brien (Morin Heights QC)
– Annie Ewart (Brentwood Bay BC) [2011 Canadian Juniors Champion Road Race/Time Trials]
– Gabrielle Pilote-Fortin (Neuville QC)

 Junior Men  
– Alex Cataford (Ottawa ON) [2011 Canadian Juniors Champion Time Trials]
– Adam de Vos (Victoria BC)
– Émile Jean (Trois-Rivières QC) [2011 Canadian Juniors Champion Road Race]
– Yohan Patry (St-Jérome QC)
– Ben Perry (St. Catharines ON)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.