Featured Stories

Canadian Olympic Committee Awards $320,000 to 64 Summer Athletes – Brown, Carleton, Glaesser & Nyhaug on Board

release by the COC
December 15, 2013 – The Canadian Olympic Committee recently announced an injection of $320,000 to 64 female and male summer athletes across the country, as part of the Athlete Excellence Fund. The fund is awarded to athletes based on results from international competition. This year, the top five athletes in each Olympic summer sport, will receive $5,000 to assist in their journey to the podium.

“This funding will be tremendously helpful as I train hard for the next Games,” said Jennifer Abel, two-time Olympian and London 2012 Olympic bronze medallist. “I’d like to thank the Canadian Olympic Committee for their continued support of athletes in Canada.”

“After a long year of training and competition, it feels fantastic to receive this funding reward,” said Damian Warner, London 2012 Olympian. “Thank you to everyone who has supported me on my quest towards excellence.”

“This is great news and a great initiative. If it wasn’t for funding of this sort, I am not sure I would be able to train and compete in a stress-free environment,” said Mandy Marchak, Canadian women’s rugby (7s and 15s) team member and Rio 2016 hopeful. “This goes a long way and it allows us athletes the ability to continue our quest toward sporting excellence.”

The fund is structured over a four year phase, with each cycle starting in the year preceding a Games. Year one and two eligibility criteria stipulate that athletes with a top five world ranking, from each sport, will be entitled to $5000. In year three (pre-Olympic year), guidelines stipulate the same, but only for a top four world ranking. In the fourth year (Olympic year), athletes will receive $20,000, $15,000 and $10,000 for a gold, silver and bronze medal respectively.

“The Athlete Excellence Fund is a fantastic initiative and one that not only supports our athletes, but helps motivate them to work even harder each and every day,” said Marcel Aubut, President, Canadian Olympic Committee. “Congratulations to each one of our recipients this year. I am looking forward to many more outstanding results on the road to Rio 2016.”

Year one summer Athlete Excellence Fund recipients for 2013 include:

Last Name First Name Sport
Abel Jennifer Diving
Anaka Stacie Wrestling
Armstrong Dylan Athletics
Beauchesne-Sévigny Gabriel Canoeing
Benfeito Meaghan Diving
Bergeron Marc-André Taekwondo
Black Sarah Rowing
Brown Aaron Athletics
Brown Laura Cycling
Caldwell Hilary Swimming
Cameron Emily Rowing
Carleton Gillian Cycling
Cheverton Samantha Swimming
Cochrane Ryan Swimming
de Jonge Mark Canoeing
Drouin Derek Athletics
Dubissette-Borrice Arielle Rugby 7
Duenas Crispin Archery
Farella Bianca Rugby 7
Filion Roseline Diving
Ganes Carolyn Rowing
Glaesser Jasmin Cycling
Goodfellow Kate Rowing
Grainger Susanne Rowing
Harvey Magali Rugby 7
Kish Jennifer Rugby 7
Kit Kristen Rowing
Landry Ghislaine Rugby 7
MacDonald Jessica Wrestling
MacLennan Rosannagh Gymnastics
Mainville Sandrine Swimming
Marchak Mandy Rugby 7
Martins Jennifer Rowing
Mastracci Natalie Rowing
Moleschi Kayla Rugby 7
Moyse Heather Rugby 7
Muscat Tyler Taekwondo
Nurse Cristy Rowing
Nyhaug Tory Cycling
Paquin Karen Rugby 7
Poon Victoria Swimming
Richards-Kwok Dontae Athletics
Roberge Catherine Judo
Roman Lisa Rowing
Roper Christine Rowing
Russell Benjamin Canoeing
Russell Kelly Rugby 7
Savard Katerine Swimming
Saxton Ben Beach Volleyball
Schalk Chaim Beach Volleyball
Sendel Samantha Gymnastics
Smellie Gavin Athletics
Steacy Ashley Rugby 7
Theisen-Eaton Brianne Athletics
van Landeghem Chantal Swimming
Vokey Jasmine Taekwondo
Von Seydlitz-Kurzbach Antje Rowing
Ware Pamela Diving
Warner Damian Athletics
Warner Justyn Athletics
Waters Brittany Rugby 7
Weinberger Richard Swimming
Zeeman Carling Rowing
Yong Yvette Taekwondo


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.