Featured Stories

Canadian Cyclo-Cross Working Group – 10 Riders Announced for European Christmas ‘Cross

release by Cycling Canada and the Canadian Cyclo-Cross Working Group

December 23, 2017 (Belgium) – Cycling Canada and the Canadian Cyclo-Cross Working Group are pleased to announce the ten athletes that will take part in the European Christmas ‘Cross project to prepare for the World Championships at the end of January.

The project will include five races in Belgium, beginning on December 26th with the UCI Cyclo-Cross World Cup Heusden-Zolder, and conclude on January 1st at the GP Sven Nys.

“This is Cycling Canada’s third annual Christmas Cross Camp and it is our largest yet,” said Scott Kelly, Program Manager for the Canadian Cyclo-Cross Working Group. “We’re excited that we are able to continue introducing developing athletes to international competition, while providing support to our Elite athletes.”

Four Junior Men, three Under-23 Men, two Under-23 Women and one Elite Woman will participate in the Christmas Cross Camp, including Christel Ferrier Bruneau, the Elite Women’s national champion, and Tyler Clark, the Junior Men’s national champion.

“Increased exposure to quality racing is an essential step in ensuring Canadians are able to compete with the best in the world and there is no better opportunity to do this than during the Christmas Cross period in Belgium.”

Canada’s Tyler Clark wins the Junior Men’s race  ©  Ethan Glading

Team Canada

Junior Men
– Colton Woods
– Dylan Kerr
– Conor Martin
– Tyler Clark National Champ

Trevor O’Donnell leading the U23 Men’s start  ©  Peter Kraiker
U23 Men
– Brody Sanderson
– Nicholas Diniz
– Trevor O’Donnell

Siobhan Kelly  ©  Ethan Glading
U23 Women
– Siobhan Kelly
– Magdeleine Vallieres Mille

Ferrier Bruneau wins SupercrossCup Marco Quezada.4
Elite Women
– Christel Ferrier Bruneau National Champ

Dec. 26 – UCI Cyclo-Cross World Cup Heusden-Zolder
Dec. 28 – DVV verzekeringen trofee- Azencross
Dec. 29 – Cyclo-cross Bredene
Dec. 30 – Telenet Superprestige Diegem
Jan. 1 – DVV verzekeringen trofee- GP Sven Nys

The 2017-18 program and selection criteria can be found on the Cycling Canada website here.

Cycling Canada does not receive government funding for Cyclo-Cross programs. This means all projects are funded through sponsorship, private donations or by the athletes themselves. Any amount donated has a direct impact on the development of this sport in Canada. As a not-for-profit organization, Cycling Canada can issue tax receipts for any donation greater than $25.

Please click here to donate.

If you are interested in sponsorship opportunities please contact Scott Kelly at scott@dundasspeedshop.com.

About the Canadian Cyclo-Cross Working Group:
The Canadian-Cyclo-cross Working Group is made up of various stakeholders from the Canadian Cyclo-cross community. The objective of this initiative is to improve communications and planning around the Canadian Cyclo-cross program. The working group has been tasked with developing a sustainable cyclo-cross program, exploring funding opportunities and identifying and engaging leaders in the Canadian Cyclo-cross community to help drive these initiatives.

Working Group members:
– Program Manager: Scott Kelly
– NSO Rep: Kris Westwood
– PSO Rep: Jayson Gillespie
– Elite Female Rep: Maghalie Rochette
– Elite Male Rep: Michael van den Ham
– Industry Rep: Craig Richey
– Member at Large: Aaron Schooler

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.