Featured Stories

Canadian Christmas Cross Project Riders Announced

by pedalmag.com

December 13, 2015 – Seven riders from across Canada will head to Belgium to contest international Cyclo-cross races over a 10-day period at the end of December for Cycling Canada’s first-ever Christmas Cross project.

2015-16 Canadian Cyclo-Cross Program  ©
“Increased exposure to quality racing is an essential step in ensuring our athletes are able to compete with the best in the world. There is no better opportunity to do this then the Christmas Cross period in Belgium,” said the National Cyclo-Cross Team Program Manager Scott Kelly. “Two of the mandates of the Cyclo-Cross working group are to introduce developing athletes to international competition and to provide continued support to Elite athletes at select international races; this project represents an important step in realizing those goals.”

The Canadian team will contest the following races:

– Dec 26: World Cup – Zolder, Belgium
– Dec 27: Superprestige – Diegem, Belgium
– Dec 29: BPost Bank Trofee Azencross – Loenhout, Belgium
– Dec 31: Versluys CX – Bredene, Belgium
– Jan 1: BPost Banke Trofee GP Sven Nys – Baal, Belgium
– Jan 3: Souldal Classic Cyclocross – Leuven, Belgium

Team Canada – 2015 Christmas Cross Project

Elite Women:
– Mical Dyck* (Victoria, BC)
– Anna Schappert (Winnipeg, Manitoba)

Elite Men:
– Jeremy Martin (Boischatel, QC)

U23 Men:
– Isaac Niles (Calgary, AB)
– Trevor O’Donnell (Barrie, Ontario)

Junior Men:
– Gunnar Holmgren (Orillia, Ontario)
– Brody Sanderson (Orillia, Ontario)

*denotes Current Canadian National Champion

Cycling Canada does not receive government funding for Cyclo-Cross programs. This means all projects are funded through sponsorships, private donations or by the athletes themselves. Any amount donated has a direct impact on the development of this sport in Canada. As a not-for-profit organization, Cycling Canada can issue tax receipts for any donation greater than $25. Please note that all support staff for this project are generously donating their time for free.

Please visit the following link to donate hoponcanada.ca/product/cyclo-cross-donation/

If you are interested in sponsorship opportunities please contact Scott Kelly at scott@dundasspeedshop.com.

About the Canadian Cyclo-Cross Working Group:
The Canadian-Cyclo-cross Working Group is made up of various stakeholders from the Canadian Cyclo-cross community. The objective of this new initiative is to improve communications and planning around the Canadian Cyclo-cross program. The working group has been tasked with developing a sustainable cyclo-cross program, exploring funding opportunities and identifying and engaging leaders in the Canadian Cyclo-cross community to help drive these initiatives.

Working Group members:
– Program Manager: Scott Kelly
– NSO Rep: Kris Westwood
– PSO Rep: Jayson Gillespie
– Elite Female Rep: Mical Dyck
– Elite Male Rep: Aaron Schooler
– Industry Rep: Craig Richey
– Member at Large: Maghalie Rochette

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.