Featured Stories

Canada’s Sports Hall of Introduces 2015 Inductees – Lori-Ann Muenzer Honoured

release by the Canada's Sports Hall of Fame

April 22, 2015 – 2015 marks the 60th anniversary of the establishment of Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame. In recognition of this significant milestone, Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame is pleased to share some exciting information about the amazing inductees selected for 2015. Thank you for being a part of our journey!

Lori Ann Muenzer  ©  courtesy of the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame

We are excited to introduce you to the Class of 2015 selected to receive the highest sporting honour in Canada. The Class of 2015 was chosen not only for their outstanding athletic accomplishments, but also for the core values they demonstrated along their journeys to success, and for their enormous contribution to their sport and country. The Class of 2015 will officially be inducted on October 21, 2015.

Susan Auch, five-time Olympian in Speed Skating; Paul Coffey, one of the best NHL defenseman of all time; Michael Edgson, Para-swimmer and the most accomplished Paralympic athlete in Canadian history; Cross-Country Skiers Sharon and Shirley Firth, the first Inuit-Indigenous athletes to represent Canada at the Olympic Winter Games; Craig Forrest, international soccer superstar; Nicolas Gill, Canada’s most decorated judo athlete; Danielle Goyette, two-time Olympic Ice Hockey Gold medallist; Jennifer Heil, the first Canadian woman to win a World Cup Overall Mogul Title; Lori-Ann Muenzer, the only Canadian to win an Olympic Gold medal in cycling; Jocelyn Bourassa, championed the development of women’s golf; Marina Van Der Merwe, three-time Olympic Games Women’s Field Hockey coach.

We are pleased to report that the 2015 Induction Celebrations presented by Canadian Tire will return to Toronto on October 21, 2015 at the Mattamy Athletic Centre, the former Maple Leaf Gardens. Michael Medline, President & CEO of Canadian Tire Corporation will be the Honourary Chair of the nationally televised event allowing Canadians across the country to enjoy the inspiring evening. We hope to see you there!

2015 marks the 60th anniversary of Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame’s establishment in 1955 and the Year of Sport as declared by His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada. In recognition of this special year, Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame is pleased to induct an additional Canadian Legends Class. This diverse group of Canadians represents nearly 150 years of Canadian sport and includes war heroes who gave their lives for our country, Indigenous and black athletes who broke down racial barriers, women who overcame gender inequality, and pioneers of Canadian sport. The Canadian Legends Class will officially be inducted on June 17, 2015.

George Burleigh, William Cecil Christmas, Alex Decoteau, Carol Ann Duthie, Alfred Cam Ecclestone, Larry Gains, Bob Goldham, Gerald Gratton, Robina Higgins Haight, Barbara Howard, Bill Isaacs, Joe Keeper, Johnny Loaring, Harry Xul-si-malt Manson, Vincent McIntyre, Robert McLeod, Aileen Meagher, Albert Murray, Charles Murray, Alf Philips, Robert Pirie, Robert Powell, Harvey Pulford, Robert Scotty Rankine, Hilda Ranscombe, Eileen Whalley Richards, Winnie Roach, Rose Mary Thacker, Elizabeth Whittall, Rhoda and Rhona Wurtele.

Earl Bascom, Frank Calder, James Creighton, Norton Crow, Sidney Dawes, Jan Eisenhardt, Alexandrine Gibb, Cecil Grenier, Phyllis Griffiths, Frederick James Heather, Frank Read, Melville Marks “Bobby” Robinson, William Shuttleworth, Henry Sotvedt and Stanley Thompson.

Consider making a donation to Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame. Whether you have artefacts to contribute to create new exhibits or you can provide financial support for the operation of the museum and programs, we greatly appreciate your support. If you would like to discuss investing in Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame, please contact Mario Siciliano, President & CEO at 403-776-1080 or msiciliano@cshof.ca.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.