Featured Stories

Canada’s Schappert 12th, Van Den Ham 15th at Versluys CX Bredene Results + Photos

by pedalmag.com
Canucks O'Connell, Schappert, Niles and Martin ready to race in Bredene  ©  Cyclocross Canada

December 31, 2015 (Bredene, Belgium) – Christmas Week continued in Belgium with Versluys Cross in Bredene, Belgium and Canadians had another strong showing as Anna Schappert (Can) Dark Red Racing led the charge to finish 12th in the elite women’s contest as Thalita de Jong (Ned) took the win. Meanwhile, Michael van den Ham (Can) Red Truck Racing-Garneau finished a strong 15th in the elite men’s race, which was won by Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games — brother of CX star Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games, who placed second.

Anna Schappert on her way to 12th in Bredene  ©  Cyclocross Canada
Start of the elite men's race in Bredene  ©  Cyclocross Canada

Elite Women
1. Thalita de Jong (Ned) 44:17
2. Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) 1:11
3. Laura Verdonschot (Bel) 1:14
4. Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) 1:36
5. Bianca van den Hoek (Ned) 1:51
6. Lindy van Androoij (Ned) 2:13
7. Esther van der Burg (Ned) 2:54
8. Monique van de Ree (Ned) 3:21
9. Emily Wadsworth (Gbr) 3:21
10. Asa Erlandsson (Swe) 3:30

12. Anna Schappert (Can) Dark Red Racing 3:43

Jeremy Martin and Isaac Niles on course in Bredene  ©  Cyclocross Canada

Elite Men
1. Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games 1:01:30
2. Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games 0:19
3. Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games 0:21
4. Joeri Adams (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace 0:23
5. Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games 0:25
6. Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Crelan-AA Drink 0:29
7. Joseph Thomas (Bel) Lares-Doltcini 0:32
8. Stan Godrie (Ned) Rabobank 0:33
9. Hendrik Sweek (Bel) ERA-Murprotec 0:39
10. Tim Merlier (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace 1:03

15. Michael van den Ham (Can) Red Truck Racing-Garneau 1:53
22. Jeremy Martin (Can) Garneau Quebec 3:16
28. Mark McConnell (Can) Hot Sauce Cycling 4:07
31. Isaac Niles (Can) Team Canada
32. Trevor O’Donnell (Can) Team Canada

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.