Featured Stories

Canada’s Nyhaug Claims Victory At Canadian BXM Open In Abbotsford, BC

release by the CCA

June 5, 2011 (Abbotsford, BC) – Under the warm and powering sun in the Fraser Valley in British Columbia, Tory Nyhaug claimed redemption on the second and final day of the Canadian BMX Open in Abbotsford, British Columbia, winning the main showdown of the day in this UCI category 5 race.

Nyhaug took advantage of the inside lane in the first turn, where all riders were neck-to-neck, to take the lead heading into the second straight. From there on, it was all Nyhaug for the third and fourth straights of the permanent BMX track in Abbotsford.

“I definitely had my better run of the day in the final heat. It was a good day of racing,” said Nyhaug, Canada’s top BMX rider who won a bronze medal for Canada in the time trials at the opening World Cup event in South Africa.

In the women’s elite race, the three Americans continued their domination, sweeping the podium. It’s Alise Post who won today’s race, repeating her performance from yesterday’s class 4 race. Arielle Martin took the second spot, followed by Brooke Crain, both American riders.

“Thanks to all the volunteers from the Abbotsford BMX Club and the crew from CyclingBC, the track was in fine shape. We had some great racing today,” said Adam Muys, head coach of the Canadian BMX team.

Next stop on the international BMX tour are the 2011 UCI World Championships in Copenhagen, Denmark, July 28-31, 2011

The event was organized by volunteers from the Abbotsford BMX Club, led by Steve Baxter, and Cycling BC.

Results – 2011 Canadian Open – UCI Class 5 – June 5, 2011 – Abbotsford, Bc

1. Alise Post (USA)
2. Arielle Martin (USA)
3. Brooke Crain (USA)

1. Tory Nyhaug (Coquitlam BC)
2. Kurt James (Nzl)
3. David Herman (USA)

Junior Men
1. Lain Van Ogle (USA)
2. Corey Walsh (Ayr, On)
3. Thomas Donnelly (Maple Ridge, BC)

Winners Other Categories
– 8 Expert Women: Chayse Cooper
– 9 Expert Men: Ryan Tougas
– 11 Expert Men: Zachary Frier
– 11 Expert Women: Natalie Schmidt
– 12 Expert Men: Aidan Macdonald
– 13 Expert Men: Alex Tougas
– 15 Expert Men: Kyle Murphy
– 15 Expert Women: Erin Kinnie
– 30+ Expert Men: Clayton Mcdonald
– 7 Intermediate Men: Kurt Janzen
– 8 Intermediate Men: Ryder Mcintosh
– 10 Intermediate Men: Matthew Betz
– 13 Intermediate Men: Brandyn Stewart
– 15 Intermediate Men: Ross Somerville
– 9 Novice Men: Sam Mitchell
– Cruiser 15-16 Men: Alex Milnes
– Cruiser 45+ Men: Trevor Brown
– Cruiser 45+ Women: Shireen Mccormick

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.