Featured Stories

Canada’s Hugo Barrette 4th in Keirin at UCI Track World Cup #3 Guadalajara on Day 2

courtesy of Sportcom

January 19, 2014 (Guadalajara, Mexico) – Quebec’s Hugo Barrette finished fourth in the Keirin on Saturday night at the 2014 UCI Track World Cup #3 in Guadalajara, Mexico.

After finishing third in his group in the First Round, the 22-year-old rider from Îles-de-la-Madeleine went on to race in the First Round Repechage where he won thus qualifying for the Second Round but he received a warning for aggressive riding.

In the Second Round, the Québécois track rider dominated his opponents again to earn a place in the final.

Dutchman Matthijs Buchli, the leader of the overall World Cup Keirin standings, won the final round with Colombia’s Santiago Ramirez in second ahead of British rider, Lewis Alexander Oliva in third.

Barrette’s fourth puts him seventh overall in the Keirin world rankings. On Sunday he will participate in a sprint.

Barrette won his second round  In the final he ended up 4th after being relegated for  for entering the sprinter’s lane when the opponent was already there.


First Round Repechage

Heat 1
1. Browne Kwesi (Trinidad and Tobago)
2. Kirill Samusenko (Russia)
3. Leandro Hernan Botasso (Argentina)

Heat 2
1. Azizulhasni Awang (YSD Track Team)
2. Andrii Vynokurov (Ukraine)
3. Edgar Ismael Verdugo (Mexico)
4. Kazunari Watanabe (Cyclo Channel Tokyo)

Heat 3
1. Hugo Barrette (Canada)  
2. Rafal Sarnecki (Poland)
3. Chao Xu (China)
4. Emerson Harwood (Australia)

Heat 4
1. Lewis Alexander Oliva (Great Britain)
2. Adam Ptacnik (Czech Republic)
3. Yuta Wakimoto (Japan)
4. Sergio Aliaga Chivite (Spain)

First rider in each heat qualifies to second round

Second Round (8 laps)

Heat 1
1. Matthijs Buchli (Netherlands)
2. Joachim Eilers (Germany)
3. Lewis Alexander Oliva (Great Britain)
4. Simon Van Velthooven (New Zealand)
5. Browne Kwesi (Trinidad and Tobago)
6. Benjamin Edelin (France)

Heat 2
1. Hugo Barrette (Canada)
2. Azizulhasni Awang (YSD Track Team)
3. Santiago Ramirez (Colombia)
4. Christos Volikakis (Greece)
5. Edward Dawkins (HPSNZ Track Trade Team)
6. Francesco Ceci (Italy)

Hugo Barrette: Warning for dangerous riding in the final bend

First 3 riders in each heat qualify to final 1­-6 and the others to final 7-­12.

Final 1-6
1. Matthijs Buchli (Netherlands)
2. Santiago Ramirez (Colombia)
3. Lewis Alexander Oliva (Great Britain)
4. Hugo Barrette (Canada)    REL
DSQ Joachim Eilers (Germany)
DSQ Azizulhasni Awang (YSD Track Team)

Final 7-12
7. Simon Van Velthooven (New Zealand)
8. Christos Volikakis (Greece)
9. Browne Kwesi (Trinidad and Tobago)
10. Edward Dawkins (HPSNZ Track Trade Team)
11. Francesco Ceci (Italy)
12. Benjamin Edelin (France)

Hugo Barrette:
Relegation for entering the sprinter’s lane when the opponent was already there

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.