Featured Stories

Canada\’s Cortes Joins Amore & Vita-McDonalds 2008

February 4, 2008 – Canadian rider, Phil Cortes was the first professional cyclist to wear the new Amore & Vita-McDonalds team uniform. The kit was designed by the team General Manager Cristian Fanini who wanted to add a more “modern style” to the team’s look. In this project he was helped by Massimo Barbieri, director of Marketing for McDonald’s Italy and by the design staff at Biemme Italy. Hopefully these jerseys will be as popular as the everlasting Pepsi-Fanini Team kit from 20 years ago that’s still in high demand from collectors and has the world champion colours to represent the 12 world champions who have come from the Amore & Vita family of riders.

The new jersey will be worn by the team this season which is led by sprinter Ivan Quaranta (winner of six stages at the Giro D’Italia), and by 5-time World Champion, and Olympic gold and bronze medalist Miguel Martinez.

Cortes has come to the team from Calyon-Litespeed, a Canadian continental squad. He attended the team’s training camp in January and February. An all-round rider Cortes has shown his prowess particularly in time trials and in week-long stage races. The team will count on him at both one-day races as well as stages races. “Phil will be of great help in powering our lead out for Quaranta as well as helping Martinez and Graziano Gasparre in difficult stage races,” stated Fanini.

The team is under the direction of Pierino Gavazzi and Maurizio Giorgini. It will start training camp in Lido di Camaiore today in preparation for the Italian season opener, GP Costa degli Etruschi in Donoratico. The team will match its sprinters Quaranta and Yurii Metlushenko against returning winner Alessandro Petacchi.

Amore & Vita-McDonalds 2008 Team
– Alexei BAUER (Rus)
– Slawomyr BURY (Pol)
– Phil CORTES (Can)
– Shaun DAVEL (Rsa)
– Valentino FOIS (Ita)
– Graziano GASPARRE (Ita)
– Fabio GILIOLI (Ita)
– Ervin HAXIHI (Alb)
– Lukasz KACORZYK (Pol)
– Sewerin Zenon KOHUT (Pol)
– Slawomir KOHUT (Pol)
– Miguel MARTINEZ (Fra)
– Soren NISSEN (Den)
– Ivan QUARANTA (Ita)
– Marek STEFANIK (Pol)
– Michael STEVENSON (Swe)
– Mikahil TIMOSHIN (Rus)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.