Featured Stories

Canada’s Blais and Aitcheson WIN Athens Twightlight Criterium @US Speedweek Race 6

by pedalmag.com

May 08, 2016 (Athens, GA) – It was Canada Day in Athens, GA on May 7 as Marie-Soleil Blais (Fearless Femme Racing) and Ryan Aitcheson (Astellas Cycling Team) took charge to win the prestigous Athens Twightlight Criterium, the final round #6 of US Speedweek, in their respective races.

Marie-Soleil Blais  ©  Fearless Femme Racing

“Did this just happen?! Holy smokes! Giant thanks to the best crew ever for watching my back in the bunch, and for this whole week of awesomeness with the Fearless Furious Femme ?#?befearless?,” posted Blais on FB.

“I’ve never had so many messages. BUT I WON ATHENS TWILIGHT!! Thanks team! I’ll try to message everyone back!” tweeted Aitcheson who also won the Walterboro Crit at round #4.

At the Spartanburg Criterium, round #5 on May 6 fellow Canuck Jamie Gilgen (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling) was 4th and Ed Veal (RealDeal/D’Ornellas p/b Garneau) was 8th.

Results (brief)

#6 Athens Twightlight Criterium – May 7

Pro Men
1. Ryan Aitcheson (Astellas Cycling Team)
2. Oscar Clarke (Holowesko-Citadel Racing Team)
3. Bobby Lea (Maloja Pushbikers)

Pro Women
1. Marie-Soleil Blais (Fearless Fem)    58:24.4
2. Sara Tussey (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling)    58:24.5
3. Erica Allar (Rally Cycling)    59:03.0
4. Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers p/b Van Dessel)    59:03.8
5. Tina Pic (The Happy Tooth Pro Cycling)    59:04.2
6. Ashley Barson (Rise Racing)    59:04.5
7. Christina Gokey-Smith (The Happy Tooth Pro Cycling)    59:05.0
8. Jessica Mundy (Fearless Femme Racing)    59:05.4
9. BrittLee Bowman (CRCA/ Velo Classic p/b Stan’s NoTubes)    59:05.4
10. Jamie Gilgen (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling)    59:06.5

#5 Spartanburg Criterium – May 6

Pro Women
1. Erica Allar (Rally Cycling)    0:59:40
2. Laura Van Gilder (Mellow Mushroom Pizza Bakers p/b Van Dessel)
3. Tina Pic (The Happy Tooth Pro Cycling)
4. Jamie Gilgen (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling)
5. Christina Gokey-Smith (The Happy Tooth Pro Cycling)
6. Jennifer Caicedo (Finish Strong Elite Cycling Team)
7. Stephanie Nave (Finish Strong Elite Cycling Team)
8. Jessica Mundy (Fearless Femme Racing)
9. Laura Jorgensen (The Happy Tooth Pro Cycling)
10. Debbie Milne (Stradalli Cycles/Papa John’s)


1. Stefan Schafer (Maloja Pushbikers)    1:22:45
2. Aldo Ilesic (Astellas Cycling Team)    0:00:01
3. Marcel Kalz (Maloja Pushbikers)    0:00:01
4. Daniel Holloway (Giant Racing powered by Intelligentsia)    0:00:01
5. Colton Brookshire (NCCF team specialized)    0:00:02
6. Christian Grasmann (Maloja Pushbikers)
7. Bobby Lea (Maloja Pushbikers)    0:00:02
8. Ed Veal (RealDeal/D’Ornellas p/b Garneau)    0:00:02
9. Quentin Valognes (Team Novo Nordisk)    0:00:03
10. Kevin Goguen    0:00:03

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.