Featured Stories

Canada’s Batty 3rd in Short Track XC @ US CUP Round #1 at Bonelli Park – Report, Full Results, Photos

release by Sho-Air Cycling Group

March 16, 2015 (San Dimas, California) – Georgia Gould (Luna Pro Team) and Sergio Mantecon (Trek Factory Racing) won the short track cross country races at the USA Cycling’s US Cup Pro Series presented by Cannondale at Frank G. Bonelli Park in San Dimas, California, on Sunday afternoon.  Sunday’s temps were slightly more comfortable than Saturday’s sweltering heat of the cross country race.

Georgia Gould (Luna Pro Team) leads the elite women's short track race  ©  Ridebiker Alliance
Elite Women
Georgia Gould raced to victory in the elite women’s short track two seconds ahead of teammate Katerina Nash. The Bonelli short track course was raced for fifteen minutes plus one additional lap. Norco’s Haley Smith got off to a fast start and broke away early on the first lap only to be reeled in prior to the prime on lap three, which was won by Erin Huck (Scott 3 Rox).
Georgia Gould (Luna Pro Team) wins the elite women's short track race at Bonelli Park  ©  Ridebiker Alliance
On the fifth lap, a lead group had formed which would dictate the remainder of the race. It consisted of: Huck, Ally Stacher, Emily Batty (Trek Factory Racing), Nash, Gould, Andrea Waldis, Catherine Pendrel and Maghalie Rochette (all Luna Pro Team), Smith, Lea Davison (Specialized Racing), Larissa Connors (Ridebiker Alliance) and Sandra Walter (Liv Cycling Canada).
Women's podium (l-r) Huck 4th, Nash 2nd, Gould 1st, Batty 3rd, Pendrel 5th  ©  Ridebiker Alliance
The Luna Pro Team took command of the late laps, paving the way for Gould’s fierce attack, which gave her a two-second win ahead of teammate Nash.

Elite men
The men’s race was twenty minutes plus one lap and saw a number of riders lining up hoping that the previous day’s efforts wouldn’t slow them down on this fast and dusty course.

Sergio Mantecon (Trek Factory Racing) in action  ©  Ridebiker Alliance
A number of early moves were countered until lap seven when the main split had been established. Trek’s Mantecon put in a blistering effort that saw first Todd Wells (Specialized Racing) and then Saturday’s winner Raphael Gagne (Rocky Mountain Bicycles) give chase. Rare Disease Cycling’s Cole Oberman would be the only racer to jump the gap to Mantecon. The two had a nice lead that closed quickly going into the last lap but Mantecon’s surge after the start/finish line on the bell lap left the surprising Oberman in his wake.
Sergio Mantecon (Trek Factory Racing) crosses the line at the elite men’s short track race at Bonelli Park  ©  Ridebiker Alliance
The Spaniard flew around the last lap to take a commanding four-second win after a brilliant race. Oberman crossed second just ahead of Wells while Kohei Yamamoto (Trek Factory Racing) took fourth ahead of Kerry Werner (Raleigh Clement Cycling Team).

Men'spodium (l-r) Yamamoto 4th, Oberman 2nd, Mantecon 1st, Wells 3rd, Werner 5th  ©  Ridebiker Alliance


Pro Women
1. Georgia Gould (USA) Luna Pro Team 18:54.6
2. Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team 18:56.8
3. Emily Batty (Can) Trek Factory Racing Team 18:57.7
4. Erin Huck (USA) Scott 3 Rox 18:58.4
5. Catherine Pendrel (USA) Luna Pro Team 18:59.3
6. Maghalie Rochette (Can) Luna Pro Team 19:03.2
7. Lea Davison (USA) Specialized Racing 19:07.8
8. Haley Smith (Can) Norco Factory Team 19:13.7
9. Larissa Connors (USA) Ridebiker Alliance 19:16.7
10. Ally Stacher (USA) Independent 19:25.1
11. Cindy Montambault (Can) Equipe du Quebec/CVM 2 Vals 19:27.8
12. Rose Grant (USA) Stan’s NoTubes Elite Women 19:31.6
13. Sandra Walter (Can) Liv Cycling Canada 19:33.4
14. Rebecca Beaumont (Can) Cyclone D’Alma/Team Quebec 19:35.0
15. Teal Stetson-Lee (USA) Scott 3 Rox 19:43.9
16. Caroline Mani (Fra) Raleigh Clement Cycling Team 19:50.9
17. Rotem Gafinovitz (Isr) Independent 19:53.3
18. Amy Beisel (USA) Liv/Giant Co-Factory 19:56.5
19. Andrea Waldis (Sui) Luna Pro Team 19:57.5
20. Cheryl Sornson (USA) Rare Disease Cycling 19:58.2
21. Evelyn Dong (USA) Team Sho-Air/Cannondale 20:17.6
22. Marine Lewis (Can) Independent 20:19.7
23. Frederique Trudel (Can) Equipe du Quebec/Specialized 20:33.0
24. Megan Chinburg (USA) Independent 20:33.5
25. Malene Degn (Den) Independent 20:35.9
26. Nina Baum (USA) Stan’s NoTubes Women Elite Team 20:42.5
27. Hannah Rae Finchamp (USA) Luna Pro Team 20:43.7
28. Shioban Kelly (Can) Independent – 2 laps
29. Rachel Pageau (Can) Team Quebec/Devinci – 4 laps
30. Meghan Korol (USA) Oisgah Tavern Elite Women Mt – 4 laps
31. Carolina Gomez Villafan (Arg) Vanderkitten – 4 laps
32. Elisa Otter (USA) Bicycle Express Racing – 4 laps
33. Cayley Brooks (Can) Independent – 4 laps
34. Rosalie Auger (Can) Independent – 4 laps
35. Abbey Alexaides (USA) Liv/Giant Co-Factory Team – 4 laps
DNS Andreane Lanthier Nadeau (Can) Rocky Mountain Factory Team
DNS Shayna Powless (USA) Liv Cycling

Pro Men
1. Sergio Mantecon Gutierrez (Esp) Trek Factory Racing Team 23:06.3
2. Cole Oberman (USA) Rare Disease Cycling 23:10.0
3. Todd Wells (USA) Specialized Factory Racing 23:11.5
4. Kohei Yamamoto (Jpn) Trek Factory Racing Team 23:12.1
5. Kerry Werner (USA) Raleigh Clement Cycling Team 23:12.4
6. Simon Andreassen (Den) Team Webike-DMK 23:12.8
7. James Reid (RSA) Trek RECM 23:14.8
8. Hector Fern Riveros Paez (Col) Raleigh Clement Cycling Team 23:15.2
9. Troy Wells (USA) Independent 23:16.4
10. Raphael Gagne (Can) Rocky Mountain Factory 23:17.0
11. Stephen Ettinger (USA) Team Sho-Air/Cannondale 23:17.5
12. Benjamin Sonntag (Ger) Independent 23:17.7
13. Ricardo Alex Pscheidt (Bra) Independent 23:18.0
14. Andrea Tiberi (Ita) Independent 23:20.9
15. Martin Loo (Est) Independent 23:21.4
16. Max Plaxton (Can) Sho-Air/Cannondale 23:22.0
17. Spencer Paxson (USA) Kona Bicycles 23:26.5
18. Russell Finsterwald (USA) SRAM/TLD Race Team 23:33.3
19. Ryan Geiger (USA) FRM Factory Race Team 23:59.6
20. Mitchell Hoke (USA) Independent 24:01.4
21. Keegan Swenson (USA) Team Sho-Air/Cannondale 24:01.9
22. Kalan Beisel (USA) Giant Co-Factory 24:02.2
23. Ryan Woodall (USA) Team Top Gear/Felt Bicycles 24:02.6
24. Tom Sampson (USA) Vittoria/Yeti/Adigga Racing 24:03.7
25. Barry Wicks (USA) Kona 24:10.9
26. David Flaten (USA) US Military Cycling/Air Force 24:13.4
27. Cameron Wurf (Aus) Ridebiker Alliance 24:18.5
28. Quinn Moberg (Can) Rocky Mountain Factory Team 24:21.5
29. Jeremy Martin (Can) Rocky Mountain Bicycles/Equipe du Quebec 24:23.0
30. Felix Burke (Can) Equipe du Quebec/Jo Velo p/b Cannondale 24:34.0
31. Ryan Standish (USA) Independent 24:48.8
32. Stephan Davoust (USA) Giant Southwest 24:58.7
33. William Melone (USA) ATA/Ridebikeralliance 25:06.5
34. Alexandre Vialle (Can) Equipe du Quebec – 2 laps
35. Colin Osborn (USA) Giant Co-Factory – 4 laps
36. Anton Cooper (Nzl) Cannondale Factory Racing – 5 laps
37. Noah Tautfest (USA) Bicycle Express/Kona – 5 laps
38. Christopher Hamlin (USA) Bicycle Express Racing – 5 laps
39. Alex Grant (USA) Ridebike/Sho-Air – 5 laps
40. Jakub Valigura (USA) Independent – 6 laps
41. JT Toepel (USA) Groove Subaru Excel Sport – 6 laps
42. Nick Thomas (USA) AZ Devo – 6 laps
43. Ian Wilkey (USA) AZ Devo – 6 laps
44. Matthew Turner (USA) Summit/Competitive Cyclist – 6 laps
45. Craig Wohlschlaeger (USA) Giant Co-Factory Off Road Racing – 6 laps
46. Derek Hermon (USA) Bear Valley Bikes – 7 laps
47. Trey Jarno (Est) Bear Valley Bikes/Spy Optic – 7 laps
DNS Eric Bostrom (USA) Ridebike Alliance/Cannondale
DNS Adam Morka (Can) WFP
DNS Alex Wild (USA) Independent
DNS Evan Guthrie (Can) Norco Factory Team
DNS Tyler Coplea (USA) Velovie/McDowell Mountain
DNS Trevor Deruise (USA) KTM Bikes Factory Racing
DNS Howard Grotts (USA) Independent
DNS Cole House (USA) Independent

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.